Stories From the Last Century

in #busy6 years ago

Trev's mum was back in hospital over the weekend. She became listless and generally lethargic. Didn't want anything to eat, couldn't be bothered with anything much and the doctor came to see her. She's still in much of a housebound state because of the broken hip she suffered when she fell a few months back.

Trev and I went to see her in hospital when we could. She sat in the chair by the 3rd floor window (4th floor for Americans). She enjoyed a wonderful view across glorious townscapes as well as countryside. It was like looking over parkland.

I can't remember how we got around to the subject, but I was reminded of a story from my childhood.

I couldn't have been more than six because we moved from that house when I was that age. I believe I was younger even than that. Younger than our granddaughter is now.

My Grandad was always a bad influence on me - I being the first grandchild, was the apple of his eye.

He taught me so many things and especially poems.

For example:

image.png

Said mother tern to baby tern,
"Would you like a brother?"
Said baby tern to mother tern,
"Yes, one good tern deserves another."

image.png

Not my fault.

Anyway... I recollected a story and told Trev's mum.

We had a good-sized dining table at our house. It seated four comfortably and had fold-down leaves. I remember sitting at the table in the old house. It was set against the wall and only one leaf would be open to enable me to sit there for my lunch.

I loved yet hated Heinz chicken soup. I loved the soup part, but the bits of chicken were too fibrous for me. My mother told me off for leaving the pieces of chicken on my plate, so I had no alternative. The three-year-old me turned to the wall and spat out the pieces of chicken so the dog could eat them.

I mimicked the 'ptoo' 'ptoo' action for the sake of the story.

image.png
Source

That story reminded me of another - because of the association with the table.

Three-year-old me learned another poem.

Now, I had a quirky little mind back then. I can sometimes remember the thought-processes from that time in my life. Bear with me while I explain.

I believed that if I couldn't see anyone, they couldn't see me. Therefore, if I hid under the table, the tablecloth would hide me from view and I couldn't be seen by the adults.

image.png

With me so far?

And therefore, logic (three-year-old's logic) then says that if no one can see me, then they can't possibly hear me...

Do you see the cunning flaw in my fatal plan?

Sitting under the table, totally invisible and inaudible to everyone in the small room, I recite Grandad's newest poem.

image.png

I'm a little boy-scout and I don't swear.
Shit, bugger, arsehole, I don't care!

The memory of my mother yelling my name is clear to me even now.

I was shocked and astonished to hear her - after all, she couldn't hear me...

I sat still for a little while and she peered under the tablecloth.

Yes, I was told-off for that one... but not as much as Grandad got told-off!

Sort:  

I can still remember my mother calling my name, especially when in trouble.

Oh yes, that sound... shivers! LOL

Grandad got a "snort" out of me too! Good thing I wasn't drinking tea. Hope to hear better news soon on Trev's mum.

Haha! Grandad's still got it... although its probably down to his 'teaching' that I am a good storyteller ;)

I hope Trev's mother is doing better, I bet she got asa big a kick out of those poems and stories as I just got. Bird brained and potty mouth, what a couple of fun things to read.

We all sat chuckling. She has a long blood clot in her leg, taking medication (injections) to sort it out. She came home yesterday.

Out of the mouths of babes! LOL My little granddaughter often repeats her father much to his chagrin! She can now curse in 4 languages! LMAO I hope Trevor's mom is feeling better soon. Being housebound can't be helping...

Oh yes, you have to be careful what you say around children!

Naughty Grandad!
Just spat out my tea to that last poem.

Haha! I think he'd appreciate the fact that he can still cause mayhem after all this time!

That last peom was rad! Lmao

dolphin .. wow, dearie, not bad ...

feesje bouwen soon hm glad to see belgian people can actually do something about themselves hahah, i should say "with"

Belgian? I'm British :)

o dear

emojipanic.jpg

my mistake ... must be the surname sounds like the province capital here

mea culpa :p

LOL No harm done :)

LOL, Grandad's poems almost made me spit out my coffee, hahaha! You were a bit "quirky" as a child? Well, that's one you never grew out of, lmao! xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87