This is Where You Can Buy and Sell Bitcoin in Uganda

in #busy5 years ago

I vividly remember I first heard about Bitcoin around February of 2017 through a Whatsapp group.
This group was promoting a scam as I later realized where people could collect their bitcoins to one wallet then they would be transferred to one individual!!!

I do not remember how the whole system worked, but all I know It was a scam!!! I have eagle eyes for identifying scams hahahaha.

You can imagine I knew how to identify crypto scams before I even joined crypto. I have realized that scams have the same anatomy whether they are in crypto or not.

This post is sounding like It is a post about scams!!! It is about bitcoin exchanges in Uganda. It has nothing to do with scams...I was just giving a small story of how I encountered Bitcoin.

I just realized that I left you guys blank in those last paragraphs above!! So in this next paragraph below, I will continue with my encounter with Bitcoin.

I encountered Bitcoin after joining Steemit (which I advice you to join If you have not yet).
I joined Steemit in mid June of 2017 and began my journey in he crypto space.

I have really learned a lot in this short time I have been in the space. I was promised some money(which I earned and still do) from my Steemit posts.

I got very active on Steemit and brought in a few of my friends too.It took me four months to withdraw my first money from Steemit.

I combed the internet left and right looking for a way of converting my earned Steem to Ugandan shillings(it took me 4 months...!!!!).

I later realized that I had to first convert my Steem into Bitcoin and then Bitcoin into Ugandan shillings.
The conversion of Steem to Bitcoins was easy since there are many international exchanges that do that.
localbtc.png

I particularly used @blocktrades which helped me convert my Stem into Bitcoins. I was now stuck with the challenge of converting(selling) Bitcoin to Ugandan money.

In all these four months I was on Steemit, my friends were asking if I had withdrawn the money!! They were asking me all these questions because it was me who introduced them to this Steemit thing.

I later figured out how to convert Bitcoin into cash and in these next paragraphs, I will list some of the exchanges any Ugandan can use to buy and sell Bitcoin.

1. LocalBitcoins

This is a global exchange that people use to buy and sell bitcoins instantly. I personally use this an I like it so much.

It is a peer to peer exchange , meaning that the website connects two people to carry out the transaction. The website connects a seller of bitcoins to a buyer.

You can decide to meet the person face to face, use bank transfer or use Mobile Money(for our case in Uganda.

You can visit their website Localbitcoins to find out more info.

2. Binance Uganda

Binance Uganda is Kinda a branch to the international Binance.com.
This is a also a great exchange to buy and sell Bitcoins in Uganda. You can use your Mobile Money to buy Bitcoins and also sell from your Mobile Money.
binance.png

You will need a National ID to sign up and verify yourself before you are able to use this exchange.
You can visit the website Binance for more info.

3. Bitpesa

This was the exchange I used to convert my first Bitcoin from Steem to Ugandan Money. I was very excited when I made that transaction almost two years ago.

I was the first Ugandan to make a withdrawal from Steemit and there was a celebration for that as can be seen from this money withdrawal post.

You also have to create and account and verify your identity on this exchange. Thisbitpesa.png
Bitpesa exchange works in most African countries like Kenya , Nigeria and Ghana in addition to Uganda.

It is a Kenyan based company.

4. Binusu

This a new exchange owned by Ugandans and it has a sleek interface. You just have to register and start trading.
binusu.png

You can also use your Mobile Money to buy Bitcoins from the exchange and also sell to the exchange and mobile money sent to your phone.

You can find out more from the website Binusu.

5. Coinpesa

This is also another exchange in Uganda that enables you buy and sell Bitcoin and even Ethereum and Bitcoin cash.

So you can buy and sell four coins on this exchange and that is Bitcoin, Ethereum, Bitcoin cash and the exchange native token CPXT.

Coinpesa.png

This exchange looks for advanced than the other Ugandan exchanges I have named above as they have their own token! Yes they have their own token abbreviated CPXT.

The reason why I said Coinpesa is more advanced is because of their mission and values, you can read their whitepaper on their website to find out more.

I know there are many other exchanges out there which you can name below in the comments. You should name an exchange you have used or heard a friend use!!!

So as we await for the bull-run, let us all check these exchanges and see how we can get a small fraction of a bitcoin before it becomes more expensive.

If you are reading this and you are Uganda and and you are stuck on where to start from feel free to get in touch with me by just making a Google search of my name(Jarau Moses) and many contact avenues will be brought up to you.

Love
Jarau Moses

Sort:  

Thanks jarau for such knowledge. Uganda is advancing in crypto..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94