ArtVenture Contest: tojin, swordsman robot - pencil and ink.

in #busy5 years ago

Hello steem artists, today i finally could upload my entry for the Artventure contest of action character creation. I created for this a samurai robot (my favorite kind of characters to create) I named him Tojin, which can be translated into sword deity, he is not an actual deity, but his powers are so far from imagination that he can only be compared to something out of this world, when the great war desolated his homeland, he made a promise that in revenge, he alone would take the world´s leaders lives, he was formerly known as a great swordsman by the name of Shin in the great war he lost his arms and part of his face in a explosion when he was fighting an entire battalion so he wore a samurai demon mask, visited different towns looking for someone to build him a pair of prosthetic arms, when he finaly found the set of arms he needed, he felt he got the revenge he wanted.

The process of creation for this piece was something of trial and error and here are all the steps I took for thi drawing.

Tojin, the great swordsman

P1360414.jpg



creation of the pose this character will have, and muscular shape of his body, here you can see that in this point he was going to be a regular swordsman with the difference of shape of his ears, maybe I was thinking of some mythical creature for this one at the very beginning.

P1360404.jpg


In this point I was adding some marks in his face and put him a helmet with horn and the ears became part of the helmet itself and the pointy teeth was stll part of the inicial design when I thought of maybe drawing an orc.

P1360405.jpg


Here are more detail in his face and put some kind of hair in the back of the helmet

P1360406.jpg


Here I had more clear what I was creating, all details in his face were finished and started to add armor in his left arm, I thought for the shoulder, something like an animal in the style of traditional chinesse folklore, something like a lion and for the arm something like scales and gave him the robotic arm.

P1360407.jpg


In this point I had all figured out, I created something like a samurai robotic-ish warrior, for the right shoulder I drew like a tengu mask and nothing more of protection as the complete arm is robotic doesn't need much protection and added some details in the chest armor.

P1360410.jpg


Here is finished the pencil sketch of my character, but I thought that maybe I would add ink to see what the result would be so, to save it from any screw up I signed it and took the picture, so if the inking would not be what I wanted I could post it to this step and it wouldn't be much trouble, so here is the result in pencil if you like more this style of drawing.

P1360411.jpg


Here is Tojin with the inking and what I decided it would be the las piece. is you like it, don't forget to UPVOTE and RESTEEM this post so I can get more support.

P1360414.jpg


Thanks to @art-venture for creating all this contests and all the sponsors who made it possible, I would love to take part in all of then but I can't due to work (adult life, lol) and good luck to all participants.

Sort:  

Hi Gustavo, thank you for your entry and I am very glad you took part in the contest.

I do not know if you heard about @NTopaz platform for artists, you can post using their app and you will be seen by wider community. Your works deserve to be seen. I will attach the link to the post where it is thoroughly explained how to post in @NTopaz and also the guidelines.

I am attaching the recent post with the explanation how to post:

https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@cafeconleche/how-to-publish-in-ntopaz-the-biggest-community-of-artists

https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@ntopaz/update-ntopaz-posting-guidelines-related-to-some-changes-in-the-voting-policy

Cheers...

Wow, Amazing drawing :o <3

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
a1.jpg

Hi, @gooze!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I really like Tojin, @gooze! What a cool character :D I love his back story, too, and I love how you designed his armour and details ! Really cool pose, too, and it is always nice to see your step by step presentation :D

Wonderful piece !!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29