Flash fiction- The last night - An original story

in #busy5 years ago

Image source

"What a week!" 

Peter thought to himself as he poured himself a stiff drink.  

"I never thought I'd see the end of it...want a drink?" 

Sasha smiled.  "It was rough, but at least we have the whole weekend to ourselves. Want to order in?" 

" I can do with a relaxing weekend.  Let's rent a movie and order Chinese" said Peter. 

"I'm going to shower first......you order and pick the movie. I doubt if I will make it past the second scene. I am way too tired."

"Are you sure you are alright?  You look terribly pale. I really think we ought to go to the hospital first. That accident might have been worse than we thought."

Peter saw that whole scene play off in his head again.  They crossed the street on Boulevard and halfway across a drunk driver overtook a taxi and bumped Sasha off her feet.  She fell....she fell really hard....

"Baby, let's go to the hospital first just to make sure you are alright."  said Peter. 

"I am sure.  All I need is some sleep.  I'll feel much better after a good night's sleep." 

Peter grabbed the phone and ordered the Chinese. He rented a movie online and took his favorite seat in front of the television.  He was still a little bit in shock after the whole accident scene, but Sasha said that she was fine.  

Perhaps a glass of wine will do her good when she comes out of the shower. Peter got up and opened a bottle of wine. He poured a glass and fetched Sasha's favorite blanket. 

"There we go...all ready to cuddle when she comes out of the shower"  

He must have dozed off a bit but Peter was suddenly awakened by the doorbell.  His heart was racing. 

"Must be the Chinese guy...where was Sasha, she couldn't still be in the shower?" 

Peter walked over to the door after grabbing his wallet in the kitchen.  

"I'm coming! " he shouted "Gee whizz I heard you the first time..."

Peter opened the door. In front of the door were two very formal looking policeman.  

"Good evening sir, are you Mr Peter Breyton?" 

"Good evening officers, yes I am.  Sorry to keep you waiting. I thought you were the Chinese food delivery.  How can I assist you? " Peter smiled at them.

" Mr Breyton. We have some bad news for you.  Would you like to sit down first?

"My wife is just in the shower.  Let me go and call her first.  This sounds serious."

" Sir I am afraid that it is not possible.  Are you married to a Mrs Sasha Breyton?"  Peter nodded his head.  

"Sir I am sad to inform you that your wife was killed in a hit and run accident tonight.  A drunk driver hit her and she fell in front of an incoming car.  I am so sorry sir." 

"But...but...my wife is in the shower....."

Peter ran over to the bathroom.  It was dead quiet.  All he found was a little note on the mirror reading 

                   

Image source

 

 

Sort:  

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.238 which ranks you at #826 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 829).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #197.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Gone for the spooky effect, well done

Touching story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16