Am I Missing the Point?

in #busy5 years ago

I had every intention of writing a totally different post today. I was having a conversation with fellow Steemian @daan today and the topic just kind of materialized.

That's going to have to wait though. Instead, today I am going to write a post about something that I feel is unacceptable that I saw in my news feed.

So I was scrolling through my feed, and I saw this post that had been resteemed by a user named @briggsy.

I honestly don't know why I follow @briggsy. I see now it is an "abuse" fighting account. I am guessing at some point I must have felt that was honorable. After today, I am not so sure I can say that.

As I write this, it is all hindsight of course. When I clicked on the link to read the story it was because I play fantasy football and I legitimately wanted to see what this person had to say about the game tonight. I have Le'veon Bell on my team, the advice here could be the difference between winning and losing tonight.
So I read the article and it was pretty darn good. A couple of pictures (not sourced, but okay...) and quite a bit of text that really seems to be original work.

Imagine my surprise when I get to the comments and see that someone has invoked @steemcleaners because the author used a bidbot.

So I scroll back up and think "oh, I surely missed something, there must have just been some pictures and no text." Nope, the text is still there plain as day. Two to three long paragraphs of it.

Listen, I know bidbots are frowned upon. Outside of OCDB, it has probably been a good year or more that I have even used one. I also agree that there has been a lot of content in the past that has been artificially inflated by bid bots. Posts with a single picture that isn't sourced and no text making hundreds of dollars is a disgrace.

This isn't one of those posts though.


Downvoting it from your personal account. I get that, I have no problem with that. Invoking steemcleaners though? I am falling off the other side of the fence on that one.

Now, I can't speak to past work by this person, in fact, I just started following them today because I was so pleased with what I read during my initial introduction to them. I genuinely see this flagging as just a different form of abuse.

Heck, I'll be the first to admit I was wrong, if the typical content from this author amounts to crap. If that isn't the case though, this flagging makes about as much sense as getting in a fist fight with a fellow sports fan because they are wearing a different team shirt than you.

Maybe I will get flagged for saying all of this. Maybe I am missing something. If that is the case, please educate me, I never feel like you are too old to learn.

End Rant


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

Although that post wasnt of interest to me it seemed well enough written and no need for steemcleaners.

Personal flags... well thats up to each individual user...

That's what I thought too. Like I said, maybe I am wrong, I am just hoping someone will clarify what this apparently "unwritten rule" is.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I checked out the post and I do agree either we are missing something or this did not warrant to b hit by Steemcleaners, personal downvotes over the use of Bid bots is one thing but I do not think this is what steemcleaners is about

Looking at it again and I noticed the user who restemmed it Briggsy also downvoted it, seems strange to resteem and downvote?

To be fair, I am not sure that Steemcleaners actually dinged them. It's just the fact that they were invoked to begin with that kind of bugs me.

Oops and thats a good distinction, I do feel steemcleaners should not have bene called with this one

I updated my comment as well I found it strange looking again that the person briggsy resteemed the post and down voted it that seemed strange to me unless that account resteem for people to downvote?

And while I am thinking about it I do understand the logic of downvoting to combat plagiarism and spam, but I would love to see a change that if you downvote you have to leave a comment as to why you are choosing to downvote the post

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.73% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7000 replies. Your next target is to reach 7250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

#newsteem where the lunatics have taken over the asylum. It's now illegal to use bidbots when the problem lay with the bidbot owners who didn't give a shit about what they were upvoting. Now it's the honest users that suffer.

As for this case, sounds like Briggsy is some vigilante lone wolf resteeming posts he considers to be abuse. I am almost sure Steemcleaners don't touch reward abuse in any case, only farms, plagiarism and copy paste.

I really hate the rise of #newsteem police state . More rules than Facebook!

Posted using Partiko Android

To be fair, it wasn't Briggsy that mentioned steemcleaners, it was someone in the comments. The fact that it was resteemed at all is what confuses me. Did it use bid bots? Yes. Was it a crap post and therefore considered abuse? No.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was a decent post. I personally have no problems with posts that have taken work or are honest, personal pieces and have a few quid botted on them. I hope things settle a little over the next few weeks and a level found and settled at.
Hope life is treating you both well :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04