My brother is in prison for 3 Weeks.

in #busy5 years ago

My brother who was a great support for me to continue my social activities was arrested by police on 23rd January 2018. It is commonly believed that prison is for criminals and many people believe so when they just get news. Nelson Mandela served 27 years in prison. Indeed, many governments are using prison just to ensure their personal or political interests.

Yesterday, I was chatting with @girlbeforemirror and she was curious to know why not I write about it on steemit. She realized it that it is somehow not possible. Bangladesh already has an ICT law which already has taken everything to write against govt. without being anonymous. A lot of people were arrested just because they clicked like and share button on facebook. It happened to one of my cousins who travelled from Japan to see his parents last year. His cancer patient children needed emergency treatment in Japan and so he paid a lump sum amount of money to be free from prison with a week and he promised will not come back here.

Today @nancybriti shared that they are facing dictatorship in Venezuela. So today Maduro sworn became president for the second term. The nature of dictatorship is quite common. We are facing the same problem in Bangladesh. But a big interest group thinks they are right and only they deserve the power and get benefits from the country. When corruption, discrimination and misuse of power occur from the head of the country, you are just a helpless person. Maybe BBC or CNN will report about you and UN will say it is not right but these dictators will not care and keep their work continue. I feel jealous when I see politics in the UK or USA or Canada.

48408470_1506931989440043_8668616838084558848_n.jpg

My brother when police taking him in prison from court.

My brother is involved in student politics since college life. He is not in prison for the first time. He went there for more than 4 times. My dad went to prison two times and he still has a case in court when he can't walk and forget what he did a few hours ago. Here, opposite party supporters mean that you are a terrorist, criminal or Islamic fundamentalist. These are common things to defend the opposite party.

DSC_5450.JPG

21 February 2018.

He is very popular to youths in our locality because of his involvement with sports, cultural events and humanitarian and social activities. Thus, he decided to be a candidate in a local election. But opposite govt. party supporters didn't allow people to vote and they started to cast fake votes. He still won the election but police and opposite party stopped the result and started to cast votes by themselves. When my brother wanted to protest it, police warned him with a gun and he couldn't win.

Now they think that my brother is a threat to them as his engagement and social activities can make him more close to people.

25188203_1671088872930861_1340311135_n.jpg
Sports program arranegment by my brother.


IMG_20171215_115712.jpg

IMG_20171216_194848.jpg

InkedIMG_20171216_170024_LI.jpg

IMG_20171216_222109.jpg

IMG_20180119_174543.jpg

IMG-20171212-WA0014.jpg

IMG_20180119_171014.jpg

IMG-20180222-WA0015.jpg

Most of his work was related to youth. So he was an influential person in our community. I know many aunts who call him as her son because of his contribution to their children. This reputation is actually a threat to his personal life. Now, govt think that as he is involved with the opposite party, he can be a problem for them.

IMG-20181108-WA0010.jpg

He mainly manages the monthly food program for underprivileged families each month and perhaps without him, it will not be possible this month.

20180611_121328.jpg

Two days ago, my mother and I went to meet him. Police asked bribe to us when my mother was crying. My other brother gave the bribe and he only let my mother in. I assume that he will ask bribe to his mother too. Dad can't meet him for his illness and perhaps he has to wait more than a month. As a family, we are just a victim.

To save my immediate brother, we sent him outside the country. I don't know what is waiting for me but we have to suffer 5 years more. I had to leave home for several days last month and still, I feel fear to move freely. I know a lot of Bangladeshi steemians are here and everyone has their political choice. But does it mean that we can't differentiate right and wrong?

Recent Bangladesh election was a drama, a drama, cheating with 160 million citizens of Bangladesh. But who will take action? all will follow formalities and when they get benefits they will stop talking about such a big crime. More than 60% vote was done a previous night of election day. A woman was raped because she voted for the opposite party. Perhaps you can't believe. Check the link.

https://hrw.org/news/2019/01/02/bangladesh-election-abuses-need-independent-probe

N.B: By upvoting this post you are supporting me @Azizbd personally, not my charity @SchoolForSDG4

Please contact me @Azizbd for any information azizbd#2850 on discord.

Join @Adsactly Community


Adsactly is a Autonomous Decentralized Society Acting Cooperatively to Leverage You.

|| Twitter || Discord || Steemit ||


Sort:  

Oh man, I'm so sorry you are going through this. So much evil corruption all over the world. We have political prisoners in the US too, but it tends to be "quiet" so people don't know about it, and does not include people who run for office (because that would make too much news, I think). But it's so much worse in other places. Cecicastor is in Nicaragua where it is very dangerous under a dictator, too. So many Steemit friends suffering! I hope for peace every day, and freedom - real freedom - for all.

I see at least people from Nicaragua can come on the street to raise voice. It is so sad that many countries are facing these issues. I saw @lyndsaybowes shared about Nicaragua on her facebook and also found that you write about it. It is hard to criticise dictators as a citizen in social media without being anonymous. They control the mainstream media, send jail for writing and arguing against them claiming. If go on street, gunfire and death or serious injury is very common. Many of my brother's friend had died by police and somewhere taken by police but no one knows where they are for years.

Yeah, that's why Ceci hasn't been posting and just relays messages through us - because they monitor social media. :( She said there is one prison at the base of a volcano and another in a crumbling stadium. Yours is the first I have heard of it being that bad in Bangladesh - just proves how much the media does not report what is really going on. I hope your brother and his friends are freed ASAP. :(

I'm sending prayers to your brother, you and your family. I read the Human Rights Watch article you linked to. It's sad to hear about all the abuse of power. I hope things get better for all of you.

I wish you a happy day. No word is appropriate instead Hope for us. The world is dominated by these people. I recently watched an election CC camera video in Russia and I was shocked. Thanks for your valuable time to read the article by HRW though such report does not affect them.

My thoughts are with you and I hope you stay safe yourself.
Things are getting bad in many countries across the world and it feels like the more we do to try and rectify things and help people the harder the authorities crack down to try and stop this.

Posted using Partiko Android

I really feel happy that many countries still try to exercise real democracy. Thank you for your wishes. I hope at the end the real democracy, justices and freedom will win.

Hello Aziz
My thoughts are often with you. Your tireless work so often puts the welfare and safety of others ahead of your own. Please stay safe, at home and on line. Some good advice here about communicating via others from @phoenixwren. Your advocacy is important, but it is only possible if you remain okay, and you are important regardless of your endeavours.

Thank you for your advice. I am happy that we can edit the posts any time on steemit and if anything happens, I can do it. I always happy to have you with my journey. I will keep your advice in mind.

Oh I am so sorry to hear that.
Saved on Steemit forever.
https://steem-bounty.com/services/forever/@azizbd/my-brother-is-in-prison-for-3-weeks

Didn't know about the steem-bounty website. Thanks for sharing. Yes. It was really a bad experience for our family. So now it is 30 days and he is still there. Recently we got admitted to the hospital for 3 days inside the prison. we are far away from basic of justices and freedom of speech.

I'm sorry to hear that and I hope a solution will come soon. My prayers go to you, the school and the kids

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you friend and I hope so, but it is difficult.

Congratulations @azizbd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @azizbd!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.243 which ranks you at #2761 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 18 places in the last three days (old rank 2743).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #188.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 38.60% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @azizbd!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hello, @azizbd. The story you tell is terrible. As is the government of your country, so is the government of Venezuela: corrupt, cheat, murderer. Unfortunately, these kinds of governments abound in the world. What we have to do is not give up, continue fighting, even if our life is gone. It is better to die than to live life on your knees! I hardly know you, but I already admire you and your family. My support and a hug in the distance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84