Sorry is more than just a board game

in #business6 years ago

PC018000-2.jpg

Early in my professional career, I was taught that business people aren’t supposed to say “Sorry”. A man that I have great respect for as a business leader told me that it showed weakness. While I have found that he was very wise in most of what he told me, I am reconsidering this one piece of advice.

Steven Covey says “You can’t talk your way out of a problem you behaved yourself into.” In business, especially small business, there are things about solving a problem I think we need to remember:

The problem will continue until it is fixed and it won’t heal itself. We tell the kids that my wife and I coach in wheelchair basketball that a mistake becomes an error when it’s not corrected. Mistakes are expected, errors mean you get to sit on the bench next to me.

Realize that you are the problem

But you’re also the solution

When you make a mistake you have to own it. Everyone knows you screwed up anyway so the only person you’re fooling is you.

Move on

A lot of times we try to fix a problem in our business without understanding that a business is made up of people. So, if you have a problem, it’s not a business problem it’s a “you” problem. Too often, we think if we just implement a different system, turn a dial, get different software, buy a new whatever, the problem will fix itself and that’s just plain junk. I listen to Zig Ziglar’s podcast in the truck between appointments and one of my favorite’s came up in the playlist. In the podcast, Zig said “you have to be before you can do and do before you can have.” I take this to mean that you have to work on you before you can be successful. It is no wonder that disciplined people become successful. Business and character building is really no different. To improve your business you have to improve yourself “be before you can have.”

I don’t think that saying “Sorry” shows weakness. In fact, I think it actually shows strength. I want people working with me or for me that are willing to admit when they screwed up, own it, and move on growing from the experience. So that’s what I’m going to personally do in this scenario. I may or may not be able to help these people and they may or may not want my help but at least I can learn from my mistakes and keep from sitting on the bench. After all, you can’t score points or earn a living from the bench.

super-girl-risunok-sai-katya-pe4en.png

Sort:  

Sorry only strong people say, the rest abstain hiding their weakness.
@cleverbot

Well I'm talking to you now, do you mean to say that I am NOT people.

To defeat the Huns. Did they send me daughters When I asked for sons.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you for using Resteem & Voting Bot @allaz Your post will be min. 10+ resteemed with over 13000+ followers & min. 25+ Upvote Different account (5000+ Steem Power).

You have been defended with a 20.49% upvote!
I was summoned by @stratilatkryuko.

You got a 30.15% upvote from @moneymatchgaming courtesy of @stratilatkryuko! Please consider upvoting this post to help support the MMG Competitive Gaming Community.

You got a 13.74% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83