Stress and Insomnia Increases for Telecommuting EmployeessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #business7 years ago (edited)

"You work from home? Wow, so lucky, I envy you!"

Isn't that what most people think?

You don't have to travel from work to home. You're not interrupted by other coworkers. You can eat when you want. What could be bad about working from home?


Telecommuting

Well, you can work overtime and not be paid for it. You can become overstressed from having to complete deadlines, even though you are at home. This can result in other issues like a loss of sleep and even insomnia from being too stressed out.

The United Nations International Labor Organization released a report today that studied the impacts of working remotely. Data from 15 countries found that employees are more productive, but that might be because they spend more time working.

Even if there aren't colleagues to interfere with your work, there are other factors that can interfere at your home. This can drive up work intensity and provide for longer working hours in order to meet the demands placed upon an employee.

Three types of at-home workers were distinguished:

  1. regularly working at home
  2. highly mobile and working in different locations
  3. split their time between the office and other locations

All three groups reported higher stress levels and more incidents of insomnia than people who work in an office or other employer-owned locations.

41% of highly mobile employees felt stress, while only 25% for office workers. 42% of home workers or those who work at multiple locations reported insomnia, with only 29% for those who work from an employer's location.

Instead of permanently working from home, getting two to three days of work at home can be the most optimal for some people. Some people might need some face-to-face contact with colleagues, and some people might need physical isolation and autonomy in order to better complete a task successfully. But even some employers don't like to do this because it gives up an element of control where they feel threatened of losing that control.

The increase in technology is going to promote regular telecommuting in many workforces across the globe. For now it's hard to get data on precisely how many people are teleworkers.

An American Community Survey conducted in 2014 reported 2.6% of the American workforce as regular telecommuters. In 2015 a Gallup poll showed 37% of US workers had done some telecommuting. Among the 15 countries used for data, telecommuting varies from 2 to 40% of employees, but an average of 17% of workers in the European Union engage in telecommuting.

With telecommuting on the rise, some nations are addressing negative impacts. France has a new labor code provision for "the right to be disconnected", where employers will be forced to shut down servers in order to curtail "working without end". Germany has already employed similar measures in 2013 with a "minimum intervention in leisure time" policy. Managers can't contact employees outside normal working hours to deal with exceptional situations if it can be postponed until the start of the next working.

What's you're experience? Have you done telecommuting? How did it work out for you?


References:


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider:

Upvoting ,    Sharing or   Reblogging below.

Follow me for more content to come!


Please also consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50:


@krnel
2017-02-15, 5pm

Sort:  

I have been working from home, or from wherever I am, for 15 years.

The company I work for has main offices in Paris, New York City and Boston. There are many others like me working from home in the US, Canada, South Korea, Russia and France.
Over the years, I have been working from Canada (Vancouver and Calgary), the US (Miami), France, China and Hungary.
I am never on vacation, but I am always on vacation.
I set my own hours and I am rarely interrupted synchronously.
When somebody want to talk to me and cannot find me immediately through the phone or Skype, they ask me to call back through e-mail.

For me, it is the best job I have ever have.

Great to hear! You got a good deal :) Thanks for the feedback.

I have to wonder what is the nature of your job, if you don't mind me asking?

Namaste :)

I am a Software Engineer, working for a company that created a development environment, initially around the programming language Ada. The company name is AdaCore.
I communicate with the customers, do bug fixes and improvements for some of the tools.

Definitely this article struck a cord with me as I am working from home or traveling.

Working from home becomes a constant, there is no separation or sanctuary as you married the two. You also get distracted and chores always loom... or people think since you work from home you are free do do things for them. I know work away from home twice a week to save me from me as well as that darn computer... human interaction is vital. And now I sleep better.

Travel is a combination of vacation and work, but again the separation blurs... something that always carries forward... Great article, I feel your pain.

Hiya. Great Post! 5 years for me (There abouts) I get the insomnia bit, as i just sometimes cannot switch off! I gained 2 stone in weight by not being active.....But.....There is alot of bonuses! I have been able to fix appointments for household stuff, take deliveries, look after my ageing pets,. Someone once said to me, if you want something enough you will make it work. Not always a reality but I have always gone back to that thought whenever I have have had a poor week! I would hate to work for anyone again.

I don't really have a set schedule. I have some meetings I need to attend weekly, and I have to be available for my team mates, and I have tasks to work on. Yet I am a senior network engineer so I am the person who responds to problems physically at the data center with hardware issues, I also install new servers and such. I respond to stuff remotely including at other locations around the country and in Canada. So it can be very unpredictable.

Admins have their ups and downs. When things go down though, they can go down pretty hard lol. Thanks for the feedback.

Good article again, thanks for sharing and educating us on this matter.

Every time there was a mention of insomnia, I couldn't help but wonder what was the nature of the work performed, the level of achievements and pressure asked from the employees. I'd really like to have more information on this study. As you may remember, my experience in relation to working with extra electromagnetic frequencies around me increases my nervous system vibrational rate thus causing two effects: First, it is harder to fall asleep and secondly it is also a much more tiring environment than, let's say, working outside have the same levels of "physical exertion".

I love how the presence of physical contact with other people is talked about. Healthy human physical contact decreases the stress levels and allows for someone to be much more readily available for a solid sleep. working from home, in front of a computer, alone all the time takes its toll on the long-run, even for the hermit-like human beings.

Thanks again for your post of quality and its information. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

I think it's a high average due to it being an average and some people have very stressful jobs, while others have very little. Most of the comments are favorable. Thanks for the feedback.

I've been working from home for over 4 years. In that time I've taken about two weeks total of vacation. Mostly due to not requesting it. Yet I am also on call 24/7. Days I plan to do something and hopefully not be interrupted by work tend to be when those interruptions occur. I will be hopefully using some of my vacation soon just so I can get an uninterrupted day as my weekends are not uninterrupted either. Yet in reality that is the only negative I can think of. Overall I very much prefer working from home. Due to being available 24/7 I do have down time, I just can't predict it with certainty.

My wife works from home and loves it. There are certainly more distractions at home than in the office, but she does well staying focused.

Love working for myself. True freedom and a great lifestyle when managed well. I think our society needs to ensure that they focus on health and understand that our food, water and exposure to heavy metals, EMF and processed foods and additives is having a dire effect on our health, sleep and emotional well being. More education needs to me made in these areas and people need to educate themselves on what all this means. Energy, frequencies and vibrations. Everything is connected. True health starts with nutrient density, 100% structured filtered water and an education in harmful EMF. Very real issues.

Great post. Lots of good info. Thanks

Good post. Very interesting! I think remote work or telework will be to work as e-commerce was to commerce. Eventually, it won't need to be distinguished as a different category. It'll just be part of the same thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85