Are you even enjoying yourself?!

in #business7 years ago (edited)

In one of my latest blog posts "Take your biggest fear and place yourself there" I shared about the fears and stress that have been coming up slowly but surely for me since I have started my business not too long ago and how that fear then affected me in how I express myself, how I interact with my reality and consequently also who and how I am in my business.

In this post I am sharing a continuation of this because of a question I recently started asking myself. This question being "do I even enjoy myself?". I was watching myself creating promotions, finding ways to reach people, engaging with people on social media and taking all these steps to hopefully attract clients and grow my business and I realized that I was doing all of it from a starting point of stress, worry, fear and despair - a starting point of survival, of worrying that my business might fail, that I won't get enough clients in time, etc.

In that moment I halted inside myself and considered that if I am living from the starting point of fear and essentially making my entire experience within and of what I am busy doing a horrible one, then am I even really living? I mean within the fear I am convincing myself that I am just trying to secure my life and living, thus justifying the fear itself, but really at the end of the day I am not even enjoying any of what I am doing and so I am not truly living.

When I talk to people I am not really enjoying the discussion, enjoying getting to know someone and expanding myself through interacting with them. When I make a vlog or write a blog, I am not really enjoying the process of writing, of opening points up for myself as I write or speak about them. All because there is this "hidden motive" behind my actions and expression, the hidden motive being fear.

What I also realized is that if I allow this fear to decide who I am in my expression and experience in this world to that extent, then what example am I actually living? As a Quantum Change Kinesiologist I am supposed to assist and support others to change and live their utmost potential lol so what the hell am I doing diminishing mine and allowing fear to have this power over who I am?!

I understood that it is my responsibility towards myself, as well as others as other versions of me so to speak, to live in a way that is best, which in this case means to live and embody the word "Enjoyment". It is my commitment to challenge and push myself to, when I find myself going into that rigid state of fear, stress and tension, look at how I can make the moment about enjoying me, enjoying the moment and finding, experiencing and expressing enjoyment in the expression of myself and my reality.

Thanks for reading.

1546263_10202182009328258_1364647216_n.jpg
Kim Amourette

Sort:  

Wow, I can relate so much to this point of fear-based survival as a way of life, and have been doing it quite subconsciously. Your blog really opened up my seeing into my own mind and mental habits, wherein I can then look at the consequences it is creating in my life.

I also accept this challenge, to live the word ENJOYMENT in what I do, because yes, as you said, if we are living in fear are we even really living? Best enjoy our moments here, they are the only ones we have!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73