VLOG #14: Bridging the Gap Between a Freelancing and Entrepreneurship on Steem

in #business7 years ago

I believe it was Balaji Srinivasan who said that Blockchain is turning everybody into amateur investors, the way that social media turned us all into amateur journalists.

If blockchains really are economic sandboxes - then each one has room for its own Elon Musks and Steve Jobses. The mega CEOs and brilliant thinkers who build incredible value and meaning out of disparate parts.

And for the rest of us, the opportunity is there to dip our toes into the waters of entrepreneurship.

Have you engaged in any Steem Entrepreneurship or Freelancing? What was it like?

Sort:  

I am just getting started myself. I wish I got in in the early days. I believe though that the next best time is now. I think the tech is still fairly new and that we are still ahead. Thanks for sharing!

Regards,

@steemitph

You are not alone, I wished I was earlier when I joined six months ago! Luckily we are all early adopters in the bigger picture.

I've been considering entrepreneurship since I was about 15. Eleven years later and I've not had any success, haha.

I disagree with your point about the difference between a freelancer and an entrepreneur is whether you have employees working for you or not. In my opinion freelancers work for other companies/businesses, entrepreneurs work for their own company/business. A freelancer works for money for themselves, an entrepreneur works for money for their business and is paid from the businesses profits.

That's a fair distinction. Although it would be hard to build a business with no employees. What if you want to sell that business?

I'm thinking more along the lines of a small independent plumber, or some other handyman, with a business name and a van who does small jobs for people, or a hairdresser who works out of their own home with a small list of regular customers. In my view these are businesses that probably create enough income for the business owner to not need/want to expand, much less sell their business. I wouldn't consider either of them freelancers because they are working for their own business and not somebody else's.

But I don't really know, I've not really looked into the legal definitions of these things, they're just my own personal definitions and I could be wrong.

I signed up for a website that accepts and pays Bitcoin for work. It is a Bitcoin payment freelancing site. No work yet.

Which one? Was it 21.co?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16