Burning Man

in #burningman7 years ago (edited)

Burning Man. Where shall I begin!? The cryptocurrency & smart contracts world is ripe for making a strong introduction to the Burning Man culture. If you haven't heard about Burning Man, read on. If you have, you may skip to the next paragraph. Burning Man is essentially a cultural revolution that began in the late 80s. A utopian dream culture the ballooned from like 12 people in the desert of Nevada to 70,000 people as of last year. A utopian festival that isn't really a festival, it's more like a city that gets built for one week. A city with its own culture, with no money, a gift economy and 10 rules to live by. A culture that will make you re-imagine what the future of humanity has in store for us -- a possible future where anything goes, where freedom of self expression is celebrated... and I mean like really celebrated. I could go on and on about what Burning Man is, especially because there isn't like one simple way to define it.

I've been to Burning Man five times. The last five years in a row. After the first time I went to Burning Man I vowed to return every year of my life. And each year about a month before it started, after getting dragged into normal society, work and the city life, I was thinking that I would probably skip that year. But each year I found out that the 'forces that be' pulled me in, landed me with a ticket and a great camp, and mesmerized me to return "home."

BM4.gif

I am super interested to connect the crypto world with the Burning Man world. I am also super interested in how freedom of being ourselves and openly sharing information with each other connects with the Burning Man movement. Steemit is a wonderful invention and so is Burning Man. Steemit is awesome at least in that it enables humans to share information with each other and get paid for it. Wow, what an invention. Burning Man is awesome at least in that it enables us to design a new culture from the ground up seemingly without caring about money. If we had to redesign society from scratch, we would probably make it more like Burning Man with a Steemit-like system to power the economic value we add to each other by simply being ourselves and sharing information.

Still though, I wonder about how making connections in real life and having those connections and the interactions power the minting and currency creation instead of only online behind a screen. If any of you have ideas about how real life connections can power us to empower us economically, in real-time, much like Steemit does, but in real life, I would be grateful to connect. Also, I would love to read comments, suggestions, stories, questions and anything else that this post makes you curious to chat about!

Best, Daniel

Fore more info see the Wikipedia article: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burning_Man

I also recommend this documentary which can also be found in full on Netflix or Amazon:

Sort:  

I've seen a lot around the web about Burning Man and would like to check it out someday. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us on SteemIt. Upvoted and Resteemed.

Thanks for the writeup.

My wife and I will be going to our first burn this year.

I definitely think the crypto world and burning man world align pretty heavily. I was actually shocked the tickets weren't completely digital. :) It'll be interesting to see how crypto can assist in the future.

And welcome to Steemit! I recommend checking out the #minnowsupportproject to help get you started with questions and help!

Also, feel free to post an #introduceyourself blog to say hello to Steemit!

And perhaps I'll see you at the playa!

Never experienced this. There has been a force pulling me though. I would say that one way to physically bring crypto to people is by starting a cannabis supply warehouse based on the coins mined on the blockchain created for it. For every block minted the award is cannabis supply (gram, ounce, pound, whatever the coin is worth) for burning man of the current year. To claim cannabis at festival, node information shows what you have contributed to the network.
Check this out https://bitshares.openledger.info/asset/DUPCOIN
1 DUPCOIN (Core Exchange Rate = 1,388BTS) This is based on current BTC-BTS value or 1 oz of cannabis anywhere in earths' atmosphere. Comes to around US$250

Beautiful! This looks like a great place to go!:) Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/travel/@nakedchef89/travel-challenge-9-mussel-farm-kavarna

Congratulations @dannydaniel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dannydaniel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22