Bounty 200 SBD: Data recovery from tapesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bounty7 years ago

Hi Steemit community

I need your support - when my brother died in 2006 I gathered all his electronic equipment to achieve it for his children (they were very little at that time). Now they are grown up and I want to give them all the data of their father.

Unfortunately a lot of his data are on tapes (yes that was common by that time). 3M Travan 2/4GB and 20 GB. Now I need to recover those data and it seems to be a challenge way over my head. I bought a tape reader (HP Colorado 20 GB) on ebay - but that one has parallel cabling (don't know if that is really the correct term) and no chance to connect to my Mac. I also don't have the right Software.

I don't feel comfortable to give the tapes to a professional recovery service - I don't know - someone looking into the private life of my brother bothers me. Also those are very expensive.

What I need:

Someone creating a step to step guide how I can recover the data. That needs to include Hardware and Software, where to get it and how to use it. 

Primary criteria for payout: I was able to recover the data (assuming tapes arent defect)

I will distribute the bounty according to what helped me most in case several good answers come up.

Sort:  

@famunger, maybe you can try "Kernel for Tape Data Recovery Software". You can check link https://www.kerneldatarecovery.com/tape-recovery.html

this is tutorial about Kernel for Tape Data Recovery Software

but i don't have experince about your problem... :(
I`ll try to search and discuss in more forum

Didn't know about the tool. I'll look into it if that is one piece to solve the puzzle.

Thanks my friend, I hope "Kernel for Tape Data Recovery Software" can help you @famunger.

@famunger, your Mac not have paralel port. You can use USB to Paralel port adapter to connect tape drive.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/bhp/usb-to-parallel-port-adapter

You can try using the recuva to recover all the datas. You can download it in www.filehippo.com.

There are free and pro version. I recome you to choose the pro version and it will recover all your datas. I hope all of them will be back.

Have a nice day,
Regard from Indonesia.

Thanks for the recommendation - Looking at "recuva" it seems to be a software that recovers data e.g. when deleted. But it doens't look like a tape control software (which I would need as the data isn't deleted). Can you confirm?

All the data aren't only delated by ourselve. They could be erased by themselve that's why we need a recover tools like recuva. You can search other tools in google. I am sure you will find one of them. Or you can ask for @profitgenerator to help you. All the best fir you, my friend.

I hope you have got back the data. All the best for you.

Pretty sure we have several tech guys able to do data recovery - i am not one of them, could only recommend some companies in the area. Good kuck with the search - I can ask some guys though.

for 200$ you can take it to a someone with the equipment and training. why dont you install the device in your friends pc?.... but I came here because of this "I'm not an upvote service". it made me lol too hard.... but i guess that means you are a good person helping out.

try also posting this on reddit and other forums. Link to this thread so they know how they can get the $200. I will look for some places where this makes later today.

Amazing post and narrative.
Thanks for sharing such great post with us!

I wish you the best in finding what you are looking for.

I do know someone that would be able to help you but they are not on steemit and although I have tried a million times to get them active here they are still uninterested. :(

I hope your fine some one to help your problem....

I hope you fine technician to help your problem....i pray for you @famunger

my friend im a doctor if i was someone with computer engineer knowledge. i could help you but now i will search about your problem if i could find some information i will inform you my nice friend. pray for your brother and his family and wish the best for you and your family. And i will resteem your post maybe it helps to find someone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39