August and First Ever Better Than Fair to Middlin’ Contest!

in #bounty5 years ago (edited)

Hello All Good Steemians!

After my first contest, I have learned there is some value in having Steemit contests on a regular basis. It is beneficial to some folks and it is a fun way to engage too! Once you start having contests on a regular basis, it gives more people a chance to hear about the contests and opt in!

So, welcome to my first ever Better Than Fair To Middlin’ contest! In keeping with the name, I will continue to post the contest during the middle of each month for an unknown, but decent stretch of time!

There Will Be Variety!


I like to keep things interesting, so the challenges (and the prizes) will be a bit different each month. Pay close attention to the rules to make sure you get a chance to win a bonus prize!

Why Better Than Fair to Middlin’?


Fair to middlin’ is a phrase that many US farmers adopted as another category for describing quality of crops. Especially in the southland, where I am from, it was used to describe cotton.

Although you may find a few variations, in my homeland it means the general and somewhat variable quality or grade between poor and excellent. Not the best and not exactly average either, but definitely good enough, or maybe just a bit better!

My father was a Yankee transplant that came to the south because he was stationed at a nearby Army base. After he met my mother, he decided to make a home here. By this time the fair to middlin’ phrase had expanded to become a way of answering the question; “How are you?” My father really got a kick out of this colloquialism, and every chance he got; he would announce his status or condition as fair to middlin’!

I Want Better!


If you are doing better than fair to middlin’, you’re definitely doing well, and that’s what I want for all my fellow Steemians. Let’s do better than fair to middlin’!

August Challenge - Open to all!

Bounty

If you enter the contest you get an upvote from me, which provides a share of the bounty (amount will vary each month) that I place on each of my contest posts! So enter! What have you go to lose?

What You Need to Do!

As some of you already know, my father was a very special person in my life, so in remembrance of my dad, the first challenge is to write about a special person in your life! Tell me about someone you both love and admire, and tell me why you feel that way!

The Rules:

1 - Your entry must be no less than 300 words.
2 – Please do not go over the maximum of 800 words!
3 – Place the url/link of your entry as a comment to this post.
(Post must be easily accessed and read from the Steemit platform)

A Few More Details:


$ - Bounty for the August Better Than Fair to Middlin’ is 6 Steem.

  • Contest deadline is right up until payout for this announcement post.
  • I will pick my top three favorites from all the entries, so it is subjective!

all images are from Pixabay!

Bonus Prizes:

  • First Prize – 3 Steem
  • Second Prize – 2 Steem and 1 Plankton
  • Third Prize – 1 Steem and 2 PAL
Caveat - You must be a Plankton token owner to be eligible for a bonus prize!
(If you are not a Plankton HODLer, you can purchase Plankton in the Steem Engine.)

gif by gerber

Good Luck to All!

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

Sort:  

Wow! Your contest is flawless. I love how you wrote it. To add more fun, let me add 1 SBI share to all 3 winners of your game, it's on me. I just realized, after HF21, we need more of those little upvoters to make it here in Steemit, so we better invest in them now. Thank you for doing this, not a lot of people are focused on quality, I like that in your own little way, you are making quality a priority. That is what has been filling my thoughts lately, how we can let the Plankton give focus to quality. Not really award winning pieces but decent posts, in preparation for what's coming after HF21.

Wow! Thank YOU for your support! I really appreciate you and what you are doing for Planktons and Steemit! <3 <3 <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Awesome! Will do! 😘

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome contest :) Will signal boost \o/

Also sent you 5 Steems to boost the prize pool <3

Hope you will get a lot of awesome entries :D

Thank YOU so much for your support! I really appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

"Bravo!" for doing a contest! It is, indeed, a great way to engage, and a good way to help smaller accounts grow! Perhaps I will sponsor by sending you some Steem sometime! 🙂

That would be fabulous! And hopefully you will want to compete in a few of them! Thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

6 Steem sent as prizes for your next contest! 🙂
If you need some Steem-Engine tokens, too, let me know!

Wow! Thank you for being so awesomely supportive and generous!

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a wonderful way to remember your dad! Love the idea for this contest almost as much as I love that phrase (and yes, this Yankee has actually used, "fair to middlin" on more than one occasion - not sure how it made it's way up North, but so glad it did! 😊). Putting my thinking cap on now...

💕💓💗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @cindyhartz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

please check your SE Wallet, sent some PLKN for your contest.

😘. You are awesome! Thank YOU!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for sharing your story about your fearless and dedicated father!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @cindyhartz, can you tell me what the end date for entering your contest is? Thanks!

Hi free-reign! I posted this very late EST on 8/15,so it very much depends on what time zone you’re in! It will pay out late on the 22nd EST, and you have up until payout to enter! Does that help?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, @cindyhartz that's what I was looking for. I wanted to see if there was enough time for me to write something, as I'm working on something now. :) I'm on EST also. Thanks!

Perfect!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for contributing this wonderful story about your dear father!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87