Bowling for Boulders on a bouldersunday

in #bouldersunday5 years ago

1-13-19

A Stormy Lake Boulder and bonus material


We are stepping back in time for this one, all the way back to 8-27-17. It was a nice day.

Here is my Sunday Boulder. It is not super big, but a boulder none the less. In Alaska they put these in a lot of places, here at Stormy Lake they are used to stop people from launching their boats here instead of at the ramp area. Sometimes they are just used to enhance the visuals of the location, and provide a place to rest a weary butt, there is one real nice boulder chair for that here, but I do not have a picture of it, maybe this summer when we can get to the lake and they open up the area.

20170827_151030 maybe boulder sunday.jpg
Big Picture

Here is a sign talking about Stormy lake. I did not shrink it down to much due to readability issues, it looked fine on my computer, and was easy to read. You can use the "Big Picture" link to get a slightly larger and easier to read view.

20170827_151359 stormy lake sign.jpg
Big Picture

This is the view of the lake right at where the "You are here" arrow is pointing on the map above. Then end or beginning of the lake. A lot of people like to fish in this area.

20170827_153413 stormy lake 8-27-17.jpg
Big Picture

These are not boulders. I thought I would add them just because. I did miss #fridaysrock, so maybe they can count for that. It was a nice find to finish the day out, but the drive home was also pretty spectacular, it was just one of those days you kind of remember. These three agates were about the size of a dime.

20170827_143238 not boulders.jpg
Big Picture

Well I think that concludes my attempt at #bouldersunday, and #fridaysrock

There were a lot of leverite rocks in the area, sometimes though we just have to have one, or two.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I remember that chair rock, it was a real perfect fit!
Not sure I got a photo of it either, will have to go back lol
Thank you so much ❤ @shadowmask for showing your
awesome boulder and very cool agates!

Glad I am not the only one finding tons of leverite! Great Boulder... I could imagine sitting there for a spell!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84