A Tahoe Boulder For #BoulderSunday

in #bouldersunday6 years ago

Well, it's not quite Sunday where I live, but it is Saturday night so I'm getting a bit of a head start on @shasta and @photocircle's #BoulderSunday photo contest with this nighttime boulder shot.

I photographed this boulder and moon a bit after sunset back in August 2012. The location is near the Crystal Bay point near the border of California and Nevada on Lake Tahoe. It was shot on a Canon 5D MarkII with a 24-105 mm lens set at 60mm. The ISO was 400, the aperture was f8, and it was a 6 second long exposure on a tripod.

Full Moon Over Lake Tahoe 11.jpg

This photo is for @shasta's #bouldersunday but also for @bitfiend's #rockhound contest. To see the photo contest entry details, please visit this post: https://steemit.com/bouldersunday/@shasta/boulder-sunday-drama



Thank you for looking!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

We need a boat there!

I've been there on my kayak a few times, it's a great spot for that! But there's a lot of boulders just under the surface so not the best spot for a motor boat...

Is there really a boulder Sunday?

I want to get involved if so!!!!

Thanks @scottshots and @shasta!

There is now! Yes, please do check out @shasta's post. Thank you!

Thank you @serkagan! Yes, I remember being super happy that I found that scene with the moon that evening. Cheers!

Woohoo what a very wonderful boulder by
the moonlight @scottshots!
Is that mist in front of the mighty boulder whale
and maybe some orange lichen on his nose?
Thank you so very much for entering your fantastic
boulder photograph for #bouldersunday! :-D
I love this shot!

Thank you @shasta! Glad you like that one. It is indeed orange lichen on his nose :)
But not mist, that is water splashing on the boulder during the 6 second exposure. Cheers!

I have been noticing a lot of boulders lately since #bouldersunday started and I've come to realize I need my camera everywhere I go so I can take more pictures. It's tough at work though, being such a dusty job. (concrete) so I feel my camera would get destroyed.

Haha! Yes, I noticed a lot of boulders on my hike today... You're probably correct about having the camera around concrete all the time. But there's always weekends! Cheers!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48