Bibliophilia - 1491 by Charles C. Mann

in #books5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Bibliophilia - 1491 by Charles C. Mann


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

I love this book, and recommend it to people, too. Kids should learn this in school, instead of the glossed over and whitewashed BS they're generally taught now.
Hey, @lyndsaybowes, this is one of the books I mentioned the other day. :)

I'm so happy you liked this book, @phoenixwren. Yes, I agree. Outdated ideas need to be overhauled, and books like this are the first step in that direction. What I think is most important, though, in introducing a new approach is to highlight the fact that it is possible to 1. grow a whole lot of food by 2. working together with natural patterns and 3. without destroying the ecosystem and cultural systems in the meantime. It's nothing new, people have done it before, and we can still learn from them.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 130 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Awesome book! I will have to pick that one up too.

I had never heard of these raised islands for growing food, that's suler intresting... I'll checknyour post on the subject later too.

And the terra preta!

an elegant combination of re-using the wastes of their culture to increase the nutrients of the soil in order to grow food.

Something we can certainly learn from for sure. We need lessons in that part of life... seems to be on it's way back a little.

Thanks for sharing this

Oh yeah, there are still some chinampas in the southern part of the Distrito Federal. If you come to the city, I'd love to show you around.
As for the terra preta, to me it seems a lot like a version of biochar.

I'd love to visit some day... seems like I'll be south this year in Costa Rica but maybe another time!!! Yeah, I guess it is kind of like biochar

Enjoy CR! A really wonderful country, if I ever seen one. And write some post about it. Would love to read about the land of the Ticos from your perspective.

Will do... we have tico friends we visit once in a while, we do love that place! We've got one month to rump around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85