You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bibliophilia - 1491 by Charles C. Mann

in #books6 years ago

Awesome book! I will have to pick that one up too.

I had never heard of these raised islands for growing food, that's suler intresting... I'll checknyour post on the subject later too.

And the terra preta!

an elegant combination of re-using the wastes of their culture to increase the nutrients of the soil in order to grow food.

Something we can certainly learn from for sure. We need lessons in that part of life... seems to be on it's way back a little.

Thanks for sharing this

Sort:  

Oh yeah, there are still some chinampas in the southern part of the Distrito Federal. If you come to the city, I'd love to show you around.
As for the terra preta, to me it seems a lot like a version of biochar.

I'd love to visit some day... seems like I'll be south this year in Costa Rica but maybe another time!!! Yeah, I guess it is kind of like biochar

Enjoy CR! A really wonderful country, if I ever seen one. And write some post about it. Would love to read about the land of the Ticos from your perspective.

Will do... we have tico friends we visit once in a while, we do love that place! We've got one month to rump around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47