You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reading, er... Listening

in #books7 years ago

I was the same way in high school with books, I hated it. Fast forward to about 2 years ago(I'd be about 34 years old then) I started reading classic novels and I love it. So far I've read Oliver Twist, MobyDick, Great Expectations, 20000 Leagues under the sea, and The Grapes of Wrath- just to name a few.
I try not to read the modern drivel, but got sucked into a couple of series'.
The biggest reason I started reading was so my children would see me do it and think its a normal thing, and it's also practice for me to read to them.

Sort:  

Hey leading by example is the best way to go! I applaud that! Good for you! I hadn't even thought about looking up some classic books to listen to! I wonder what kind of people they'd get to read something like, Moby Dick!? Haha. Have you tried audiobooks? I don't think I could sit and read now. I am too fidgety!

Nah, I haven't done any audio books yet. I'm usually cranking out Hank Williams or Jamey Johnson when I'm messing around out in the shop or garden.

I get that. Mine's usually Queen. Hahaha. Or lately I've been really feeling STYX. :D

Good selection. We saw queen awhile ago here, I even listen to their vinly!

Tribute band, well, tell me was the tribute band any good? I've thought about going to a concert like that? But, didn't want to be disappointed.

It was Adam Lambert with the rest of the original band. The show was amazing!

No kidding! I'll keep an eye out then!! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86