What's on your bookshelf - besides books?

in #book6 years ago

Antique books, I usually keep in a cabinet with glass doors, along with vintage dolls, and a sword from Toledo, Spain, but I've never tested how sharp it may be.

Captain Kitty

was the love of my life in early childhood, and I spent many hours staring at the fluffy white queen in her pearls. Then my mom let my sister's children have the book. I was mortified. I hunted bookfinder.com, and every copy was a hundred dollars or more, until I found an ebay seller named Matt - $25, shipping included. I love you Matt!! Captain Kitty, I love you too!!

Toys, cassette tapes (who still plays those?),

a family photo from the late 1990s, a model of a Garst seedcorn truck (because Iowa native Roswell Garst made the cover of Time magazine when Nikita Krushchev visited his farm, in Iowa!):


What's on your book shelf?

Yes, I know. I should declutter and organize mine. I know. I know.

Sort:  

Well Thank You!!!
(I'd hunt for an emoji but never seem to get any to work in this little Reply box!) {{HappyDance}}

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you! :)

I would share a photo, but it's a mess up there!

I have books standing vertically, some books laying atop those that are standing, a leather journal of which I had great intentions for but remains empty, a few gemstones, a unicorn and dragon plushie, dragon ornaments, a heart-shaped balloon that is still inflated after two years! A two-year-old rose that's fallen apart. And last of all, a Garrus Vakarian action figure still in his Mass Effect box.

(A mess)

I've never heard of Captain Kitty before... now I wish that I had! That looks like a book I would have looooved as a kid. Have always been a cat person. 😸

You must find Captain Kitty!
And I must see Garrus Vakarian.
I'm delighted to hear of a bookshelf that might be even messier than my own. :)
Oooh yeah!! I thought my Thor action figure was cool, but this guy is awesome!

Most of my books are stored in boxes, as the kids need bookshelves more than I do... those I have left, yeah, they're a big mess. Nice that you managed to find your most precious book, funny thing how we never forget those first books we used to love. I must have completely forgotten hundred of books I read as an adult, but I remember many of those from my childhood.

Oooh, another book lover with a messy shelf! I love you guys! (gals).
There's one book I've NEVER found, a hardcover, large size, richly illustrated children's book, Cinderalla, the wretched version where one stepsister cuts off her heel, the other her toe, to fit the glass slipper... the pictures were so beautiful! To this day I dream of walking the the little town library and seeing it there. Thanks for reading and commenting, @marie-jay!

Very sweet. My book cabinet is similar. Also has glass doors and a few figurines that I've bought all over Europe. They're a bit smaller than yours, though. ;-)

PS: I've saw your post because @theluvbug resteemed it.

Thanks for commenting, and thanks to @theluvbug for resteeming!

Uh, I don't keep books at all. I am kind of a ... tree huger. Yes, I know. Ridiculous. I keep my shelves decorated with my kid's artwork, she even made me a custom phone back cover. What I keep are the toys, some were custom made gifts from the people I helped. I passed all of those gifts to my daughter to play ( or destroy, what ever she likes the first), because I believe that the positive vibe stored in those objects will transpire and influence her in the best positive way.
The most touching item which I received was from my former roommate. It is a hand knitted doll of a a lil witch. My at times overly enthusiastic spicy peculiar cooking influenced her fragile condition so much, that her ovarian cysts just exploded and she became a happy mother of a long awaited baby boy. The next day she brought me an only work of her hands that she could never parted from and told me if anyone deserves it beyond any doubt to her, is a true sorceress. LOL

~ #steemrepair


This account curates for the @steemrepair and pulls two trails. You've been upvoted for your quality contributions to the Steemit community. To join this initiative follow Steemauto curation trail. Use tag #steemrepair to qualify for a possible reward upvote.

What a great story - your spicy cooking cured a woman of her infertility, and she gave you her most treasured doll. AND, you believe toys are kind magical: "the positive vibe stored in those objects will transpire and influence her in the best positive way" - your daughter, free to play with or destroy the toys - LOL! (Mother of three; I know all too well.)

It was very spicy, it definitely boosted the blood up into her cheeks, lol. I was terrible, I know. I think it was more about her being all time down and blue, and it is quite impossible to remain like that at all times if you have a very vibrant chirpy person as a roommate. I think that was her main issue. Once she changed her reactions mentally, I think the chemistry of her body just changed by itself. That was what helped her. And chilly. Lot's of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37