You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Half Past the Moonfall by B.M. Matthews: Rave Review from Keangaroo!

in #book5 years ago

LOL! @kaelci, I just read your Amazon author bio (which is great!!), and I applaud your "torments" with the Oxford comma and the British dictionary, but someone please correct me if I am wrong in saying the comma in your bio should not be there and is not an Oxford comma:
Biography
B.M. Matthews is a woman of few qualifications and basic education, yet attempts to write intriguing Fantasy tales despite the odds stacked up against her. She also enjoys tormenting readers by using the British Dictionary, and the Oxford comma.

(I may be wrong! Your comma may be more Oxford than I am!!)
Well, YOU are wrong in one thing: you are most certainly not a woman "of few qualifications!"

Sort:  

I didn't like the comma I put there... it was more a "there is an 'and' here and I will use it to shove my point across!" 😆 - I should probably fix it. It's not a correct comma. Commas!

The bio was very hasty. I didn't realise that I had to write one to make the author page show up so I zoomed it. But I am uneducated (repeated grade 11 twice, left halfway through my second year) and my only formal qualification is working in retail with no paperwork or certificates to back me up. Life experience my saving grace. 😉

...now it's niggling at me. Commas!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Comma Comma Comma Comma Comma Comma
LOL!
It was the second sentence where I took issue with the comma. And I can almost guarantee you, NOBODY ELSE on the planet will look at your author bio and object to that comma. Now, this nonsense about your lack of credentials on paper... diplomas... haven't you watched The Wizard of Oz?? Just a piece of paper! If you've earned more of your storytelling skills from LIFE than from sitting at a desk in a classroom reading books some teacher assigned you, you're up there with Jack London and other greats! Me, I'm the bookworm who sat quietly at her desk like a good little girl and now is incapable of torturing her protagonists. -_-

Hasty creation, hastier fix! :D - "She also enjoys tormenting readers by using the British Dictionary, writing with obscure words that require said dictionary, and the Oxford comma."

I was the same!! You should read my first version of Vengeance (no, I won't subject you to it), but it's basically "Her family died! Woe. But a prince is falling in love with her, she just defeated a powerful mage with no problem, oh she's married now... story done."

Torture!!!!!! There will be torture.
(And not quite as many exclamation marks ;) )

Vengeance sounds awesome!
Love the "hasty fix" - a perfect illustration of what the Oxford comma is.
Torture... husband and I are watching "Vikings" on Netflix (because, history, because, this stuff happened, for real). And oh man. We both wince and cover our eyes. I hate brutality, greed, corruption, treachery... the betrayals! the power grabs! .... and yet this is what fiction is made of. Nobody buys novels where people are all nice and terrible things don't happen to them. -_-

I haven't seen Vikings yet, though have heard that I should and that I'll probably like it. What you just said makes me want to watch it more... I'm terrible.

My partner and I have been watching Norsemen... which I guess is a satire of Vikings? I don't know. But it's giggle-out-loud-worthy in quite a few bits! We put it one night for the random factor, ended up watching half a season before bedtime. :)

Nobody buys novels where people are all nice and terrible things don't happen to them. -_-

Unfortunately!

Hmmm, Norsemen....? I'll see if it's on NetFlix or Amazon Prime!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43