Weeknote 170526

in #blogging7 years ago

070522 096

This week feels long. It seems a very long time since last Friday night. I haven't blogged like there's nobody reading so much, so let's see how that works for the week.

May is a month of birthdays for me. I know so many Taureans. It's that and September and December. Earth likes earth. I've spent a lot of my time in relationships with women born in the second week of May. And then this week it was my mother-in-law on Saturday and my daughter on Tuesday.

So we went to visit, we went off to the little village in Kent where we were married. We had dinner in one of the nice pubs - everyone had steak except me, I went for the sausage and mash. I had a pudding which is really not what I normally do. The next day was warm and sunny and we lunched out on the patio before heading back into the big city - we had to go up to Orpington to get a train due to engineering works.

Monday I walked a little, had a Doctor's appointment (all good!) had coffee with Mrs Davis and we did some planning for the move. Tuesday I spent with my twenty-something "kids" (that means they're both in their twenties, not that I have more than twenty offspring!) We play Mario Kart, watch movies, eat too much bad food - family!

The rest of this week I've been wrestling with how best to achieve what I want with my work at the moment. Accepting that no plan survives contact with the market and that there's good service that I need to put in the world. It's coming together, more slowly than I'd like but still... Wednesday I probably spent too much time in my own company. I did my openmic entry in the morning but then thought a bit too much and didn't talk to enough other people. Danger!

I made up for this on Thursday. First I went to the RFH for an Unhurried Conversation (it's a talking stick type thing but very lightly held) - a good chance to voice some of the stuff that was otherwise going round my head. It was mostly about the election and Brexit. Then I met up with my gang to do a mutual-support meeting together, we give each other fifteen minutes to just download where we're at and get some suggestions for what to do next. And when I came out of that I saw my friend Tony had called me and it turned out he was sitting right outside the co-working space I was going to next. So I sat and sipped water with him in the sunshine and got refilled on what it is that I do and particularly on what he's noticed me doing of value (all unprompted, it just came up in talking). I felt much refreshed and went into our monthly Town Hall where we talk about everything from washing up to new carpets to why the internet's not working to why Slack is just the most... ach! no everyone loves Slack and it's the best way to do the thing we want to get done, we just seem to spend a lot more time talking about it than actually using it.

And today we had a decent 7 chaps at Tuttle, much jollity and world-weary cynicism. Much crypto talk and general critiques of hyper-capitalism as she is currently practiced. Good stuff is coming along the road. I walked a lot this afternoon. Spent some time on tying up loose ends on Long Eaton and London. And then with my dinner I watched the movie, Captain Fantastic, which made me cry and laugh. So much so that it sent me to writing in a box and pressing POST so that you can read it, whoever you aren't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97