Wilma the whippet has arrived + Updates on my blogging

in #blog6 years ago

After a rather long time planning and waiting, the new family dog is finally with us, and we decided to name her Wilma. She is of the breed whippet, which looks a lot like a greyhound, but it is a lot smaller. They are also a bit slower than the greyhounds, but despite this, some of them reach a speed of 50km/h, so they are still very fast compared to most dog breeds! She can probably already outrun my other dog if they had a race, even despite her only being 8 weeks old.

DSC_0163 – Kopi.JPG

It's really nice to have a puppy again, but boy does she have a lot of energy! It's a good thing that the weather is so nice, so that we are able to spend most of the days outside where she can play with the other dog and her toys without making a mess.

DSC_0184 – Kopi.JPG

She is notoriously difficult to photograph since she is constantly running around, but I think I got some nice shots of her after a hundred or so blurry photos!

It is actually pretty difficult to get your hands on a pure-bred dog in Norway

One would assume that it's easy to just go ahead and buy a dog, but the reality of how this is in Norway is very different. Some dogs breeds have a demand that is much higher than the supply, and this is true for the whippet. To make it even more difficult, it is generally much more difficult to get the female ones.

DSC_0173 – Kopi.JPG

So when we wanted a female whippet, we had no idea how much time it would take to get her. We contacted many different breeders, but all of them had waiting lists. One of them had just put out an ad on a Norwegian version of Craigslist called Finn.no, and she had one female left for sale. We were lucky enough to contact her before she took the ad down, because she got 80+ e-mails and phone calls from people who wanted to buy her during the 24 hours the ad was online!

At this point we felt pretty lucky to be selected as the buyers! Anyone with some sense of economy obviously sees that the breeders should increase their asking price, but for some reason they all seem to sell whippet puppies for NOK 15,000 (roughly $1.800), but I'm not going to tell them that as a buyer. I think the price is high enough, but it's pretty much the normal price for a pure-bred puppy in Norway. The pug was actually a lot more expensive when I got him 6 years ago though.

Where are all the science blog posts?

I'm sure some of you have been wondering about this, and it's a good questions. Unfortunately I cannot offer you a good answer. I'm honestly a bit burned out after having written a few hundreds of them in the time I have been on Steem. It takes a long time to research, write and edit a full science post, and lately I just haven't found the motivation to spend my (very limited these days) free time on writing. Instead I have been using it to enjoy the abnormally hot early summer we got here in Norway with my family and dogs.

This does not mean that I have any plans on stopping. I just need some time to recuperate, and this probably means that I will post less than originally planned during the summer. I do however have lots of ideas for upcoming science and nature posts, so they will be back again soon. Hopefully I will find the time and motivation to return to writing 2-3 each week, while working my way back towards writing daily again.

Thanks for reading

I really appreciate everyone that are coming here to read, comment, and upvote my blog posts! I'm sorry for being so slow to reply to most comments these days! I hope everyone is having a great week, and hopefully I will see you in the comment section?

Sort:  

I can understand why you have stopped writing about Science. I know it is a lot of study before you are able to write something. This is what I do at least. That's why, I don't write about Science; I am burned out already, lol.

Yeah, it takes a huge amount of work. It's best to take it at your own pace if you want to keep doing it.

Gratulerer med ein nydeleg whippet @Valth
Håpar du få mykje glede av den nye hunden din.

Med vennleg helsing
@Siggjo

I was started thinking of that............why and when you will be sharing any of your science posts. As you said "you are enjoying the summer", here in South Asia you can not do that. Summer is just to hide in the shade :)
Enjoy your time

It's kind of funny how it seems like people in Asia enjoy the winter, while we in Europe enjoy the summer. I suppose the heat is a lot higher for you then it is here though. And thanks!

Det var en søt liten tass:-)
Gamlefar på 12, mr. Robbie Williams hilser så mye fra plankebyen! 4DBFD4B6-AA1E-48E4-8749-0393F34954A8.jpeg

Håper ho blir tatt godt i mot av gjengen.
Ha en flott dag:-)

Takk for det! Han var søt han også :) Hva slags rase er det?

Robbie er en Tibbe på 5.5kg sær gammel mann som elsker kose, gå tur, leke og ellers bare sover:-)
Ser det står at du sendte med fast reply! Hva er det?

Fast-Reply er en app som gjør at det er veldig raskt og enkelt å skrive svar på Steem-blokkjeden. Når man svarer på 20+ kommentarer tar det veldig lang tid på Steemit, men det går lynraskt når man bruker Fast-Reply, da man ikke trenger å laste inn hver eneste kommentar. Du kan prøve det selv her: http://fast-reply.surge.sh/

Take it easy @valth, I can totally relate to what you wrote here :) The weather has been amazin here too (probably in most Europe) so I have been also spending as much time outside in the nature as I can. Plus you have that one adorable new member of your family so it is totally understandable that you want to spend your time with her too. We are looking forward to your great educative posts but make sure you enjoy that well-deserved free time and you-time ;) All the best from the (currently scorching) Czech Republic!

Thanks, I will :) It's crazy how hot it has been this year; we almost never have 30+ degrees Celsius in Norway at the beginning of June. I bet it's even hotter the Czech Republic as well!

Well, not hotter but still unusually hot for this part of the year. We have had around 30 degrees daily for some two consecutive weeks already, which is not normal for late May/early June. Also, we have been struggling with severe drought. There is no denying that weather patterns are changing (for worse).

Take as long as you need to get your mojo back on the science posts, I know they're a mission to write :) meanwhile I'm perfectly fine with garden posts and always okay with puppy posts :D

goatsig

Hehe, I'm glad you are fine with gardening and puppy posts while I'm finding my motivation again! :D

Isn’t she a cutie...?!!
I bet you’re going to have your hands full having a puppy in the house.
Remember to enjoy every moment ;0)

Oh yeah, she's a handful already! Hehe

Yeah, I'm really enjoying it so far, and it's great to have a puppy again :)

Welcome wilma, you have glorious master. your picture really beautiful, cause of you and yoir master shots.
really happy to find a new family. when I was a kid I had a beautiful dog. in the village we use dogs for various purposes including house keeping and hunting mice or civets. we dug a mouse hole in the rice paddock while the dog waited in another hole that was the path of the rat. With the help of dogs, rats were captured and collected. he did not eat the captured rats. he just bites and turns it off and we collect it. thanks to the dog we can control the mice and the rice is not too damaged by the rat pest.
so, welcome new family members at home. hopefully expensive price will be paid with longing for wilma.
About your science blog i pray you will write again.

warm regard from indonesia

Thank you. That dog sounds really nice! I'm glad to hear that it was able to help out you and your village by getting rid of the rats. Thanks for stopping by! :)

Congratulations to have new pet in your family.Attaining 50 km/hr speed is amazing. Wilma is looking cool in the pic. Whippet breed is pretty costly but may be rare things are mostly costly.
Yes your science blog was missing but I understand your situation. It is better to spend some time with family and enjoy the sunny season which is not so common at your place. As far as our region is concerned temperature during day time reaches at 120 F

Thanks! Yeah, it's incredible how fast the can run.

Oh wow, that's crazy hot! How are you even able to do anything in that heat? We have almost 90 F here, and even that feels way too hot!

Yes, it's pretty hard to sustain, you can't easily wonder around in road during day times when temperature feels like 122 F. People who use motorbike in these conditions or people who go for some important work in the market use to cover their head with wet cloth to save them from heat. Beleive me in couple of mintures the cloth become dry. :) 90 Degree is consider as a moderate temperature in our region. Keep sharing @valth

It's really cool to see how big differences there are between our countries, @kamchore. I guess I should stop complaining about my 90F heat then :P hehe

Yes There are big differences,

I guess I should stop complaining about my 90F heat then :P hehe

lolz and we should stop complaining about the long winter night in our region after considering the condition of your region. Keep sharing @valth

Nice dog photos. I like the color of dogs. But in my area there are no dogs. Congratulations, you have a female dog. You need a picnic, so you have the spirit to write again.
Thanks for sharing us.
Have a good day @valth

Thank you. I think her colors are very nice as well. I'm sad to hear that there are no dogs in your area! And a picnic sounds like a great idea ;)

I am glad you like my idea.
You are welcome @valth

Well, it was a good idea ;)

Thanks @valth
Have a good day.

Have a good day yourself :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78