Week 1 : The Beginning

in #blog5 years ago

Hey Guys!

I’ve just started the first week of my first semester. And so far, I’m liking it!

IMG_0411-3.jpg

After the registration day, the Student Representative Council (SRC) organized an Induction Programme for the new students. This is to introduce the university to us and also to enable to make new friends. The Induction programme as held for 3 days and I must say, I actually enjoyed the programme. I’ve always been scared of any orientation programme due to its pack schedule and strict facilitator. But this time, I was happy to learn that it is nothing like the orientation programme that I have joined.

The Induction Programme has earned me some friends from different courses. I’ve also had the chance to learn more about my Sudanese housemate who is taking Bachelor of Civil Engineering. I find it interesting how we share a lot of things in common. Although having a chance to meet quite a lot of new people, I didn’t get the chance to meet my coursemates, which I thought was very odd.

What I did this week?

The subjects registration started last Monday and we were able to do it online. However, I was having difficulties to register all the recommended subjects as they clash against each other, which means I had to meet the Head of Programme to help me with it. So I went and met her at her office on the following day and there was already a long queue of students wanting to meet her. I was actually sitting at her desk for 2 hours to get it settled.

Once that’s settled, I was able to attend the classes on Wednesday onwards. While the classes are just a short briefing regarding the syllabus and examinations, I thought it’s a good chance for me to meet my fellow course mates and lecturers. But sure enough, not everyone came since they know it’s just a 15 mins briefing.

This week I also tried meal prep for the week. Although I think it was not very successful, I actually manage to prepare dinner for 4 days.

What scares me?

While the first week has been easy, there are a few things that start to scare me already. With the determination to lead a healthier and balanced life, I’m worried that I won’t be able to cope with the 6 subjects that I will have to go through this semester. Sure enough, this can be achieved if I am disciplined enough but that scares me too. Realizing that university isn’t just about studying, I’m also concerned about making friends that I can share some memories with.

What did I decide?

Not wanting to fall into my old habit of studying alone in my room, I made a resolution to spend my weekdays in the library whenever I don’t have classes and hopefully some of my coursemates are interested to join as well. And there’s no better way to make friends than to join some clubs. For this semester, I’m thinking of joining a running club. I’ve also decided that I will start weekly journaling to track my progress to be able to improve myself.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I hope you like it and if you do, do poke the upvote button!!
With Love,
Vael Riey

Sort:  

Remember to spread some steem-love with your friends 😂. Study & earn some STEEM at the same times, why wasn't STEEMit exist during my college days? 🙈

Ah that is true! I did talk a little bit about Steemit to one of my friends. Will try again :D

I’ve also decided that I will start weekly journaling to track my progress to be able to improve myself.

Keep it up! I find journaling to be a meditative exercise plus it will serve as a benchmark to how much you've done over a time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11