Exploring Southwark Park & Gardens, London

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2799.JPG

We're experiencing some very hot weather in London right now and have been for the past few days. Unlike some other countries, we don't tend to have air conditioning in our houses/flats due to the generally temperate (often cold) climate.
IMG_2825.PNG

Due to the heat, I decided to get out of my home office and down to the park to explore some greenery.

When most of you think of London, what comes to mind? Is it a concrete jungle like this?

You'd be forgiven for thinking so! But like any city, there are spots of green. I went to one - Southwark Park -earlier this afternoon.

IMG_2802.JPG
This is the entrance to a sort of park garden, containing a whole host of plants.

IMG_2822.JPGWhile inside Southark Park garden it is easy to forget you're in central London

IMG_2818.JPG
At the lake I saw that there were ducks, geese, swans, pigeons, crows and more, so I decided to get some bread and come back.

IMG_2781.JPG
This is me, out and about in London

While at Tesco I picked myself up a Starbucks frappuccino, because it's that kind of day!

IMG_2782.JPG
This kind of day...

Honestly, it was so hot that I was tempted to ignore this sign, despite the water being green and murky:
IMG_2775.JPG

But I made a few new friends anyway
IMG_2795.JPG

I enjoyed getting out of the office for an afternoon jaunt down in Southwark Park. Hopefully I captured it well with the photos - how does it compare to parks in your area? Let me know!

Thanks for reading guys
IMG_2774.JPG

@tylergreen

Sort:  

Congratulations @tylergreen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81