Should we change ourselves to feel belong?

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_2103.JPG

I started to like this quote when I finally could be my own self.
I understand that people want a sense of belonging. They don't wanna be left out or ignored, so they do whatever it takes just to fit in. My only question is "Why"? why do we need to do that?
I read a book " Start with why" By Simon Sinek, and it taught me many things. One of which was we need to appreciate the differences. We all have our own value which other people may or may not see it. We need to be happy to be who we are. It's always ok to be different as long as you love what you are doing.
My true example is Iphone. All of my friends are apple fans, so there is no doubt that all use iphone. However, I love Android better as I see the conveniences the company provides. I can copy pictures and music very easily without Itune. I can even play variety of games for free as a game lover. What i see is totally different to what my friends see. That is why whenever we were together, they seemed to make fun of me using Samsung all the time. I was always the topic to talk about when we gathered. They said i was out dated, not trendy, very traditional ect. I was quite sad actually. Some part of me really pushed me to go for Apple though i did not have any knowledge at all about apple. However, thinking back and forth, I finally realized what i read from the book and eventually got myself back up and stopped caring about what others said to me.
And what did i get at the end?
I felt the distance between my friends and I. I didn't talk much like before. But i was happier, and more confident in myself. I believe we all have our own values, so do not need to care much about what others think about us because they are not us.

Sort:  

I love being different. So I really enjoyed your words on your pencil photo.
Actually people are fascinated by those who do way-out things. They hang around to see what next you'll get up too!

That's correct....Those people don't really appreciate the differences...They only see things at one side, making themselves fail to learn from others..

I heard a great story once that goes something like: one person asked me to change so I could be better. Another suggested I make improvements to be more successful. Another said I would be happier if I started behaving differently. Finally a true friend told me that I was appreciated for exactly who I am. Those words so moved me that I became a better person....

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah....I experience similar story. we really could not please everyone..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84