You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The D, of MMG, shares his thoughts on DLive leaving.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Yeah, it's tough. I had come to rely on DLive lately myself. There are still other options on Steem, but DLive was the whole package that just worked. Vimm.tv is still in its early stages, so there will be lots of growing pains to go through, same with d.tube. If Steem stayed the way it is right now, then I might consider moving to Lino with DLive. But all the issues they brought up as reasons for leaving are being worked on and are coming out in the next 6 months, one in just a few days. And it's not like these developments weren't known beforehand like DLive's sudden announcement. We'll see how well they work out, but I call bs on DLive's supposed reasons. Especially when some dapps are already using SMTs to bring quality content to the top without any bots or whale issues. Why couldn't they do that? And after all the juicy revelations dug up by the community my trust in DLive is completely gone, I can't believe anything they say anymore. If their dapp didn't work so well I wouldn't be so bummed. Now I'm left with a choice to either use inferior Steem dapps or ignore my moral compass and go with DLive. I'll probably do the former and stick it out with Steem. At least I can make some money here and feel good about myself. Lino is totally unproven, their monetary system is confusing as fuck and we don't even know how much their coin will be worth once it hits the market. There is just so much uncertainty and the odds of their blockchain succeeding in any significant way are slim. Just look at Vice that forked from Steem. It's a total train wreck and they had big partnerships in place like Playboy to help out. If they stuck with Steem I'm sure the community here and a working blockchain would've meant a very different fate for them. If they couldn't make it work how could Lino that's on its own as far as I know. And they're aren't making any mainstream headlines like Vice did. It will certainly be a tough road for DLive and Lino going forward and all that uncertainty makes me want to stick with what I know. Even with its current flaws, Steem has somehow developed a very strong community which should become stronger still when the kinks are removed one by one.

Sort:  

You bring up a lot of really good points and I don't blame you for feeling deceived by DLive. Realistically if DLive had stuck with steem I think the platform would be in a better place. Both communities were helping one another grow. Then all of this happens. Sticking with a proven platform is the smarter choice. Lino still needs to earn the trust of the community before any real investment can be made, by any party involved. We will have to see what the future has to offer. Thanks for providing your opinion to the conversation my friend.

You're welcome. I still feel a lot, just needed to vent some more. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34