AFRICA SECRET PLACES from @shumbahills – blog #1 Encounter wildlife face-to-face

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

 In attempting to talk about why one should go to Africa I always came across the same feedback from some people. Among other things they’re all telling me in mostly exciting mood how they’ve been lucky to look at animals from very-very close distance. They’ve been so happy and brave to watch wild and dangerous animals in its’ nature field. But be sure just a few of them suggested themselves to be adventurous before they faced such experience). But! Most of them described it as the best “once-a-liftime-experience”.    

I should say that I totally agree with all of them! And now I would like to show you how it can be and where in Africa you can find such secret places where wild animals will look straight into your eyes. And sometimes they will be so close to you that you even may touch them with your hand! But from my experience not so many from you would try it that very moment. But nothing to be scared about, my friends) If you will follow some simple but however strict instructions from your guide you’ll be in safety. 

Here is wild seal face-to-face boat cruise in Namibia. This seal is one of twos were jumping in our boat from sea)


 I hope that the below pics should be enough to convince even the most nervous of potential travellers that Africa is a must visit destination full of sensational wildlife and wilderness experiences, breathtaking scenery and wonderful individual cultures. Enjoy!   

There're some self places like WILDLIFE FARMS in Namibia for example where you can even go on walk in the open bush with wild but tame lions, cheetas, smaller wild cats like caracals and servals. Sometimes even kids are also allowed to participate in such walks. Certainly all of walks are taken place with professional local guides. As for me I'd rather prefer the places where local bushmen guides could accompany. And I support with my recommendations the farms only participating in strong conservation and wildlife projects. Meanwhile there are some places in some countries where farmland greedy owners wish to make money on poor wildlife orphans or injured animals. It’s unacceptable way of doing in terms of many reasons and I hope that everyone should understand it. Big cats should live in wild parks as they're so beautiful and skillful hunters!

 Wild leopard seen in Zambia at night game-drive with antelope kill


I will not tell you about standard vehicle game-drives as it’s of common travel style in African national parks. And anyone wishing could find a lot of info about.  But for me such options like walking safari, boat safari and staying in small mobile or remote camps are the best way to get the best wildlife experience.  I’ve visited many national parks and game-reserves in different countries in Africa for the last 15 years but even now sometimes I get surprised with some places like this one. I mean SELOUS GAME RESERVE in Tanzania. It’s in Southern and less-visited sector of the country but believe me it’s just a miracle for any wildlife lover! If someone needs any details you may search in the Web and look for the picture. I just would like to tell you about what to expect when you come there. First of all you will see the great combination of different safari options to see wild animals – you could go on vehicle game-drive, swim on boats, doing walking or just sit in camp and look on the river! Most of camps in Selous are located on Rufiji river banks. I never got such enjoyable experience just only looking around from my tent’s terrace! Elephants, buffalo, lots of giraffes and bush antelopes walked around me peacefully… On boat safari you will see so many birds, crocs and hippos that you never forget about your fillings and excitement. During dinner some small friendly genets and civets, or bushbaby will visit your table and you even may feed them from the hands with some fruits or bread. And finally at night you’ll fall asleep under bushbaby pitiful cries… Anywhere you will be fascinated and impressed with all of these sounds, smell and scenic pictures of natural Africa! And you’d like to come back for sure!    

Just look at animals passing by your side (from your tent view)

or this way

Boat cruise on Rufiji river

and this one too)


and finally

Your guest at dinner time) Welcome, bushbaby!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34