You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm not a Libertarian

in #blog6 years ago

I loved the article. I, too, felt similarly when discussing libertarian ideals (classic liberal I sometimes call it) with friends and family.

One thing I have found to be beneficial when opening the topic is stating that I do NOT support anarchy, but rather limited and 'decentralized' government.

In the U.S. the founders instituted the federal system of government in which the States and the Federal government SHARED power. At the top end (federal) it was designed to be limited with enough power to ensure citizens may live freely (Bill of Rights) and that many other issues are left for the states and local authorities to determine.

Sort:  

One thing I have found to be beneficial when opening the topic is stating that I do NOT support anarchy, but rather limited and 'decentralized' government.

Yeah, this is mostly my approach as well. I try to avoid certain "trigger words" and slowly introduce libertarian thinking into the discussion - let them reach them reach the conclusions on their own. And, most importantly: always remain calm and respectful. Spite and emotions ruin every discussion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36