Life Around The Waterfalls Of Mountain Olympus In Greece

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Do you remember @trumpman's Sunday post on the lakes of Mountain Olympus, the 12 gods' residence?
Well, today I got you some of my shots and videos to enjoy!


There are two pools, each one with its own waterfall that have easy access for visitors. You can park your car, walk some 50 meters or so and reach the first and smaller one (I made a couple of posts last year as well!)

The first and smaller pool looks light blue


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (10).JPG


With crystal waters cold enough to keep you out if you're afraid of the cold!


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (7).JPG


Unless you are fearless, like @trumpman

But surely not me today, it's not a good day for a cold dip! I'll fool around and see what else I can shoot!


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (9).JPG


'Cause I only got like 100 GB in photos and I so much need another 100!

Look at what you can find around the waters!


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (2).JPG


You may be tempted to kiss one, because who knows...


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (6).JPG


It might turn into a prince... or newt!


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (4).JPG


You might even find the Smurfs village up here...


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (8).JPG


Oops! It seems like we've come at an inappropriate moment! Sorry guys, keep doing your thing, I'm outta here!


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (3).JPG


Wow! That's a big, black one!


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (5).JPG


Enough, we're here for almost 3 hours, @trumpman got bored, let's go to the second pool...


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (11).JPG


The second and bigger pool has a taller waterfall and the waters look greener, probably from all the vegetation around.


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (14).JPG


This waterfall is taller and... noisier



And the streams that leak all the way down the rocks to spew themselves into the pool and join the river on its journey to meet the sea, make a pleasant resting place for the occasional lost Prince Charming...



Weird creatures live here, check this "monster" out!


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (15).JPG


I've no idea what it is! If, by any chance, anyone has a clue, please let me know in the comments. Thank you!

And just as we were about to leave...


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (1).JPG


Yes, it's a crab, a big one lurking in the dark behind a rock.


ruth-girl_steemit_waterfall olympus (16).JPG



And just like this, our Sunday trip ended and took the way home, with a lot of beautiful pictures in our minds...
And a lot more in my camera!

Our homeland is rich in sights, sounds, smells and wonders! This summer is retreating slowly and steadily and as the fall arrives and settles, Nature starts getting ready for the big winter sleep. Life on the mountain will go to bed and wake up again in spring, well-rested and ready to host us for yet another year and feed us with its never ending positive energy. We should be grateful for living in such a blessed place!


All images (not free for re-use) and original stories by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


ezgif.com-optimize (2).gif

Sort:  

I don't like toad/frog but your pictures make them look cool. Amazing...

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I wouldn't like to have them in my house, but they are sweet disgusting slimes, don't you agree? :P

If you say sweet disgusting, then I agree

Careful, Zeus is known to transform himself into animals in order to have sex with the wildlife and/or women. So don't talk badly about any creature you find in Mount Olympus.

What an incredibly beautiful place! Strangely enough, it reminds me of the old Tarzan movies and I'd imagine him submerging any time wrestling a corcodile :-b

The "insect" looks like a dragonfly larva to me. I love dragonflies :-)

It is! And thank God no crocodiles live there, just a bunch of water snakes!

YES!!! Thank you! It's a dragonfly larva! I just looked it up! The place is full of dragonflies, it's very reasonable to find larvae around here.

Oh my god how enchanting... I live in Spain but I recently bathe in a pond that seems a twin place but in my country... I love the crab and the little frogs... Nature is home and we are Nature... Following now...
Beauty around us should be appreciated and I'm glad you shared it with us.

Places like the ones I showed you here and those you describe from your country are our safe havens from daily routine and city life. We need to protect them!
Thanks for coming over!

Our country is rich in...."smells"? LOL

Judging by you, YES!

εμενα μου αρεσουν οι κοντινες στα βατραχια και τον καβουρα....ποσο iso ruthie?

Εχω κι αλλες, καλυτερες, αλλα βαριομουν να κατσω να διαλεξω με τοσες που τραβηξα παλι...
Iso στα 200, δεν παω παραπανω την ημερα. Οι περισσοτερες ειναι χωρις φλας, το unidentified beast, ο βατραχος με τη σαλαμανδρα κι ο καβουρας ειναι με φλας.

πολυ ωραιο τοπιο, σαν να χεις ιδιωτικη πισινα! επισης παρα πολυ καλη αναλυση στην καμερα κ στις φωτογραφιες κ στα βιντεο!

Ευχαριστω! Τωρα μοιαζει με ιδιωτικη πισινα, αν πηγαιναμε 2 βδομαδες νωριτερα θα εμοιαζε με τη χαβρα των Ιουδαιων! Για τοση πηχτρα μιλαμε!

α καλα, γεμιζει τουριστες ε? τουλαχιστον το εχετε κοντα σας! το καθαριζουν καθολου οταν ειναι οι τουριστες η μες την βρωμια μενει?

Πανικος! Ολη η Λαρισα κι η Πιερια μαζευονται σε 200 τετραγωνικα, οι πιο πολλοι ερχονται για τις φωτογραφιες βεβαια. Το καλυτερο ολων ομως ηταν ενας τυπος περσι το καλοκαιρι που ειχε μπλοκαρει σχεδον το μονοπατι π οδηγουσε στην πρωτη λιμνη. Ειχε στησει το αγροτικο του, ειχε συνδεσει μια σουβλα στη μπαταρια του αμαξιου, ειχε βαλει κι ενα πλαστικο τραπεζι με καρεκλες και την ειδε Κυριακη του Πασχα στην εξοχη!

ζουσε την στιγμη :P

Oh, I don't care how cold those pools are I want to dive in so bad, with my mask and snorkel and investigate and marvel at what lies beneath.

I love a good day out frog hunting, and they look especially lovely amid thier moist green moss carpeted homes.

They are cold enough to make your body ache! I soaked my feet and I couldn't wait to get them out!
I have taken a dip in summertime, but now that the temperatures are more chilly, I don't feel like it at all.

Trumpman said he saw crabs inside, last summer we found a small snake and I think some fish too...

The frogs were awesome, their "show" was relaxing and funny. There were so many, hopping around or just sitting with a silly look on their faces. And they were tiny little miniatures, no bigger than an inch and a half! 🐸🐸🐸

You found a lot of cool creatures there, and those pools look amazing! I could use that right about now lol

Yes, it was real fun there!

Είναι φανταστικό μέρος.... απο τις αράχνες το έριξες στα καβούρια;;; :ppp

Απιστευτο ειναι κι ευτυχως πεσαμε σε "ησυχη" μερα, το καλοκαιρι γινεται πανικος εκει κ δεν βρισκεις που να σταθεις!

All this photographs are beautiful.. Small Waterfall is amazing dear friend...
Beautiful little frog.. absolutely amazing photographs & Video. I really like this pictures.

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13