What have you done in your life which has truly helped the lives of others in the world?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

question.jpeg
(Photo credit)

Every morning, I read the Daily Teachings by The Secret. One day, the following question popped up and has caught my attention. Wow, I thought, this question goes deeeep!

What have you done in your life which has truly helped the lives of others in the world?

I shared the question on Facebook and Twitter and it resonated much stronger than my average post.

I took this opportunity to do a reflection exercise. I’ve spent 30 minutes contemplating and writing down everything that popped up, and was surprised by what I learned:

  • I thought about the times I shared insights from my heart during talks
  • The times I coached former employees
  • The times I was part of a team that experienced a state of flow together and helped each other
  • The times I comforted people that were feeling down
  • The times I listened to people just for the sake of listening
  • The projects I have built
  • Friendships I have nourished
  • The times I shared book recommendations and other insights that helped others
    *I realized that sharing, gifting, teaching, helping, caring, nourishing friendships were the things which have truly helped the lives of others. And not unimportantly, they help me as well, because these are the things that make me fulfilled and happy.

I’ve now scheduled this excercise on a yearly basis on my Wunderlist.

By the way, Patrizia wrote the following comment on Facebook: “i give kiva-loans (www.kiva.org) and it was one of your posts years ago that made me learn about it thanks”

This comment was proof that my writing can have an impact, even if only for one person. It was also one more reason to finally start this newsletter. So here I am, sharing (and hopefully helping) even more.

What about you
How would you answer that question?

My purpose in life is to unlock my full potential. This is why I am an entrepreneur. This is why I love books. This is why I love personal development. This is why I love productivity. This is why I am an idealist. Finally I get it. It’s so simple and clear. Join my journey! — Remo Uherek

Please upvote
Please upvote this post. It would help me stay motivated :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @remouherek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14