Bygone times

in #blog6 years ago

ac868491-0b6e-424c-961a-d412ae050591.jpeg


I miss the time when my kids were still believers of Sinterklaas and Black Piet.

The excitement, the tension, the joy and the happiness.

I could feel the same mixture of feelings seeing my kids enjoying Sinterklaas as I had when a was a believer.

It is a pitty that this folk festival, that is more or less a national feast, is under fire nowadays.

It is pushed in the corner of racism.

As a kid I never made the link between Black Piet and human beings of a certain race.

For me they were some mythic creatures like fairies, wizzards and dwarfs.

I wish for all kids in the Netherlands they can keep enjoying this very special time every year.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Congratulations @raypelsteeltje! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14