Autumn - What It Means To Me

in #blog6 years ago

As we transition into the new season of Autumn, many changes occur. The look of the landscape, the weather and ultimately our change of habits. Autumn for me is all about foraging the fruits of a great Summer and preparation for the coming Winter.

Autumn Fruits.JPG
I always like to see and know what I can forage in my immediate area, out to around 300 yards of my current location in order to establish the whereabouts of easy pickings - particularly the berries and the nuts. As you can see, there is a great abundance of plums and blackberries around here.
I believe it is also the natural order in which to antioxidise the body with fruits and boost the immune system with berries prior to winter flu and bug season. I feel a trip to the river bank is essential in order to gather some Black Elderberries.
BLACKBERRIES.JPG
It is the last opportunity to see the landscape and animals themselves preparing for their own Winter struggle.
BushWalk.JPG
In the coming weeks, the reptiles too will be scarce! I happen to stumble across this Grass snake actually swimming across the river, pretty long too (3 ft).
SWIMMING GRASS SNAKE.JPG
A fine example.
GRASS SNAKE.JPG
Even the Newts expose themselves in the final throws of Sun in the early Autumn, warming themselves on South facing surfaces.
SMOOTH NEWT.JPG
Although most of England has been deforested, it has been replaced by fields of crops, designed to entertain and feed the masses (all for profit of course). Soon the pumkin harvest will begin on a mass scale and soon Halloween will be all to quickly over! PUMPKIN.jpg
Finally I will ensure all mechanical systems at my location are lubricated, my preps are checked, any rust exposed surface is treated and the all essential chimney is checked.

Good Luck Folks.

Sort:  

howdy there sir preppervetuk! man, where you live is surrounded by fruit trees, nuts and berries? Sounds like the place to be, and look at all those pumpkins..what does this refer to?..." all mechanical systems at my location are lubricated" in other words, what things do you lubricate for the winter?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15