A Day at the Lake! {Exercise, Friendship & Vitamin D}

in #blog5 years ago

Hey guys! My phone has been out of commission for a few days, so can you believe I haven't taken a picture of food since last week?? Crazy, I know. Though I have to say it is nice on occasion to be able to just dig right in when I finish a meal instead of spending 20 minutes trying to find the best angle for a @dandays worthy cover photo.😉

DSC_0004.jpg

Luckily @dksart brought his camera up to the lake this past weekend when we went up to enjoy a day with friends. Besides visiting his parents or scooting down south of the city for a fruit-picking adventure, we haven't really gone anywhere this year. It was quite nice to hop in the car to head out for a day of fun up in the northern part of the state. We're a good five hours from any ocean, but there are quite a few nice lakes to still get to enjoy a day on the water closer to home!

DSC_0027.jpg

The weather was stunning for a day on the water. After we got settled in the first crew of us hopped on the boat for a ride. This was my first time visiting Lake Hartwell, so it was nice to get to see a portion of it from the boat. I was a bit stressed before we left to head up since this was the morning my phone stopped working, so it was wonderful to let all that go and just start enjoying an "unplugged" afternoon. After driving around for a while we stopped in a little cove to jump in and swim.

DSC_0068.jpg

The water was perfect! Not too cold, but also not too warm like some of the pools get at this point in the season. If I want to take a bath I'll take one, I want a swim to be refreshing! After our boat ride we came back to enjoy a meal at the house. One of my clients and his partner were the hosts, but everyone brought something to share. I had made some BBQ jackfruit and a beet salad. It's always hit or miss how much other vegan food is at a shindig, so I often bring two dishes just in case. I was glad I did since all the activity on the water makes a gal hungry!

text16.png

Once we chilled out for a bit after the meal, it was time to get back out on the water. I spotted a stand up paddle board on the screened in porch that we were welcome to use. I have been wanting to try this for so long! My dad used to surf with his buddies back before my sisters and I were born and while we were still pretty little. I never had the nerve to actually try traditional surfing, but this is definitely my speed. @dksart took a turn first...

DSC_0087.jpg

Then I hopped on for my first turn. I started out on my knees to get a little better feel for it, and I didn't feel like busting my butt in shallow water, haha!

DSC_0120 1.jpg

DSC_0122.jpg

I put my squatting muscles to good use once I got out a little deeper to give the whole stand up thing a go!

DSC_0126.jpg

I made it up with no mishaps, though it took me a bit to get my legs feeling steady. Though as I told @riverflows, I think the paddling portion is the most challenging to get the hang of!

DSC_0140.jpg

I cruised out as far as I felt comfortable the first time around, then brought it back in for the next person to take for a spin. Not a shabby view, eh?

DSC_0149.jpg

The second time around I felt a lot more comfortable, which I think shows in my stance! As much as I have a pretty good athletic background, it still takes some time and energy to learn a new skill. Definitely a fun way to exercise, though! I wish we had access to do it more frequently.

DSC_0203.jpg

text16.png

One of my co-workers and his family also came, so besides just having fun ourselves it is always a blast to see his son enjoy himself. He loved the boat and is a little fish in the water. They tried to put him down for a nap in the afternoon, but I think he didn't want anyone to have fun without him so he joined us back outside. I'm sure he probably slept really well on the ride home.

DSC_0276.jpg

We took out the kayaks for a little bit, as well, before packing up and heading back home. Even though I'm kind of ready for the summer heat to be over, it was quite nice to really get to enjoy it one more time before the season changes. Now it's back to reality for the work week and waiting for my replacement phone to come in...

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Damn, that looks like fun!

Namaste, JaiChai

Ah! To get the hang of a paddleboard is such great fun.
I was waiting to see your handstand on the board hahaha.
That is such a beautiful place to be on a day out.
Great post my friend.
Blessings!

Haha, I may have to work up to the handstand! I still can only do one of those with my feet against the wall on solid ground, but it's always fun to work up to a good challenge. I'm still smiling about what a fun day it was, so it is always nice to carry some positive vibes all throughout the week!

And you look very fit on that board my friend.
We used to do handstands and tried many other tricks on the boards.
Guys even used to go three up on a long board, but I never tried that.
It did indeed look like you had great fun out there.
Great memories for sure.
Blessings!

Pure awesomeness SiStar! 🔥🔥🔥🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Nothing beats a day outside! Lots of mushy mud between my toes, too. :)

Looks like such a beautiful time had out on the water stand up paddling boarding is something I have always wanted to try I must do it sometime

:)

You should definitely try it! Especially somewhere like this where it was a bit easier to get up and get going without waves to knock you down. I think I'd want a few more times in a lake before I tried the ocean. :)

I do know people locally who have them, and even bene offered a free hire from a local shop that hires them out since i have done shoots of some of their events I just have never got around to it

Looks like you've all had a really nice time. That water looks very inviting.

New phone coming soon! 🧩

Gaz

I forgot how much fun a lake day could be!

I keep refreshing my email to see if my BF got the package with my phone in it yet...haha!

This was such an awesome way to spend the Labor Day weekend!

You really rocked the paddleboard and yes, it is a little bit awkward when you begin, but, you quickly got the hang of it. What a day! So nice to get out with the family and let that beautiful hair down!

Thanks for taking us along with you!

!tip

It was much needed! Though now I'm going to make sure to pester these guys next year to make sure we get more invites to come up throughout the summer and not just at the end, haha! I would definitely love to spend more time on the board. Maybe eventually I'll find one of those yoga classes they do on them to check out. :)

🎁 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Treed On Tuesday With A Wednesday Walk Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

What a beautiful lake @plantstoplanks. I haven't tried paddleboarding but it looks so fun. Phone stopped working, yikes! It's amazing how attached we become, I hope you were able to mentally leave it at home for the day :)

We were blessed with a perfect day! So thankful for the whole experience. It is crazy thinking about how we used to be perfectly fine without cell phones, but now without having a land line it is quite tough not to have one for a few days! Though I hope I'll be a bit more mindful of how much time I spend on it after this little reprieve. ;)

First of all, look at that vegan supermodel body!!! I think surfing suits you well and I believe you could do very good at it if you practice. Nevertheless, I ans that all of you had a blast and I would too if If as there!!! LOL! Beautiful nature and a love all the pics!!! 😊

Aww, thank you my friend! All those fruits and veggies keep a body strong and fit! ;) I think it would be a blast to get out and try it more often. I know my dad really enjoyed those years where he was a regular surfer. The connection with the water and time with friends was probably why he really enjoyed it so much. I'm glad @dksart had his camera with him to capture some of the fun!

I really perceive how well you spent your day of distraction.

Thank you! It was definitely nice to put everything else aside for the day. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29