Information overloadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

Too much data

Cannot keep up anymore.

Choices to be made

Lately I've been wondering how there has been a flood of new digital things. Not only Blockchain and Crypto related, but that is where I made my first cut. My main focus is going to be on that part of the digital realm. Also a lot of choices there. Next division, Delegated Proof Of Stake {DPOS}, only using POW {Proof Of Work} type of Cryptos for value storage, receiving and payments. Dogecoin {DOGE}, fast and cheap, Litecoin {LTC} the digital equivalent of silver. And Bitcoin {BTC} as gold.

DPOS is the Blockchain Crypto future, at least that is my vision. So I use Bitshares, the one that started it all, as a DEX {Decentralized EXchange} and EOS, as the Extraordinary Operating System. With Steem and Whaleshares as the main Social Media platforms I will focus on. Two being already a bit overkill, but they both have their own unique features that make them worth using.

Letting others be

As I do have accounts on platforms like NXT, Ardor and Waves, with Tokens issued, I just cannot keep up. Also some things I do dislike about how the Waves platform, like how it handles Tokens. While NXT evolved into Ardor, but in a quite disappointing way to me. It did not live up to the promise. Waves looked more promising, but there is a kind of Censorship that I dislike. Using those Blockchains will move to the background for me.

Waves I might pop in from now and then. While NXT and Ardor will be very rarely used. No ICO's for me, no new and different Blockchains anymore. And I think I will not be able to keep up with all the publications on the Social Media Platforms of my choice. Basicly I like the way Whaleshares is working and Steem has changed a lot. But also the flood of data is too much for me to keep up with. And so much of the same, on all of those platforms.

Cannot keep up

It is amazing to see how some people are able to post, curate and reply. Meaning in numbers. How on earth are they able to read all the publications they curate and reply? To me it is already hard to have al least one decent conversation going. And post on a regular basis, while having a private life too. With all of its challenges. Imagine keeping track of all the birthdays of all the people in your Social Media Platform networks... Or visiting them, once a year...

Whaleshares is more relaxed, at least to me. Less of a rush, less posts, takes 14 days for a payout. And I really like that it is full a 100% Stake reward. Those who dislike that can use other platforms, which is possible thanks to the many Steem spin offs. Somewhere there is a Steem fork that suits you best. Where some even might be avoidable. Just like there are Bitcoin forks that should be avoided, you probably will remember Bitconnect...

The fast lane, not for a Sloth

At some point I was involved with the community fork of Slothcoin. Really liked it, maybe because the Sloth proves that those who can adapt to changes will survive. And that has nothing to do with being the fittest, the fastest, the biggest, the strongest and so on. So, I think I am going to take it slothly, but steady. There are still are a few things I want to do, Crypto- and Blockchainwise, but all in good time.

First I had to accept that there are people who can fastread more than 10 publications a day, curate them and have complete conversations in many replies. While posting on many platforms, daily, at least. To me that is close to superhumanism, or are we already in the presence of AI supported Human activity. Think I'm gone to search for it on the web. Learn it how I publish, curate and reply...

Fear Of Missing Out

In a WhatsApp group I started, called 'Cryptonauten' (Nederish for Cryptonauts), I already had that experience. FOMO for Tron, Ethereum and all them airdrops, but I let it go. Just too much for me. It is fun to chat about the different strategies and experiences, but the urge to dive in them too is gone. Just want to focus on what I feel comfortable with. And I have that mostly with DPOS based projects.

And that is where I set my focus on. While I still am trying to find the right balance between the virtuality and my reality.

May the Cryptos be with us!


Trying to focus in a flood of data
bckgr.png
Image cc-by-sa @oaldamster


This article is published at several blockchain based Social Media Platforms. By @oaldamster cc-by-sa licensed.

Sort:  

I do not see the trees tthrough the forrest anymore, I write on bussy steemit and whaleshares . On steemit i am downpowering but i leave it standing as steem see what happens with it. I seem to have lost my waves and my tulips or i am looking on a wrong account. It is all a bit out of my system after a break, and it looks like so much has changed.

True, hard to keep track of it all, without automation of some kind. Or maybe I returned to realism.

It feels better to make choices, so I am able to oversee the whole picture.

Things change fast indeed. At some point I really believe that those who adopt Artificial Intelligence {AI} will have a huge advantage in the digital realm.

Even to absurd levels where the AI will read posts of other AIs and curate and reply. To a level where blockchain tech that 'only' adds blocks every 3 seconds cannot keep up.

We even wont read those posts any more.

But until then, I'm cutting down on my time virtual being in the digital realm.

you're not the only one who is having some kind'a "data overload"

I wonder how the non geeks continue to keep posting
am guessing - no other things to do but sit in front of the comp or have too much free time

as for me, I'll just keep swimming when I can :D

Have no idea how other people manage, but I had to pull the brakes. ;-)

Publish, curate and reply when you have the time and energy, that is a realistic way to deal with it. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28