Happy New Year. Reflections and Goals.

in #blog5 years ago

image.png
source

Another year down and it really seemed like the fastest one yet from my point of view at least. From this time last year when STEEM was riding high through the summer and watching Clare narrowly miss out on an all-Ireland final after a great replay. Turning thirty, Miltown making a Munster final and straight through until this Christmas again. It was a good year overall and one that i have really enjoyed. No huge moments like in the past few years but it was quietly satisfying and positive.


Reflections.




STEEM


While we all know the disappointing year across crypto in general, I still believe that the price doesn't match the value that we have here. Since this time last year I have seen so many things to be positive about. Regardless of the market crash we have seen a number of great apps moving forward like @steemmonsters,@partiko and @d-tube. Groups creating new projects like @oracle-d, @steemonboarding and @dstors. The community has really been stepping up over the past few months and taking control over our direction heading forward and hopefully steemit inc can do their part and work on moving to RocksDb and release hivemind and SMT's.

There has been so many good developments over the past 12 months even amongst all of the FUD and negativity surrounding crypto as a whole. I'm in the lucky position that i can afford to hold my coins and in terms of STEEM have managed to increase my holdings since prices have bottomed out.


Life




The big milestone for myself this year was turning thirty with a lot of my friends. Not much has changed in general since I am nicely settled into my job with a good few years and have no huge expenses outside of my house and car. It's been steady but I was happy to get back playing sports again after a few years of doing very little. I joined a golf club near to me with a mate and we got a lot of use out of it in the summer. We had such a great summer that it was easy to head out after work most days and play a few holes. Started playing soccer once a week again with the past two months and it really makes you feel better after a proper game. The fitness is slowly coming back so I just need to keep it going.


Looking forward.




STEEM


I don't do new years resolutions and never have so what I will go with instead is set myself a target. I had already stated a few months a go about reaching 5k SP by this time next year but since the markets dropped so low I actually hit and went past it a month ago. 13 months ahead of schedule. So now I will go big.

10k SP by 2020. Not easy but achievable. It will take a lot of time and effort to get there but it's time I'm willing to put in. Like I've said before, I will be here until we are all millionaires or the whole thing goes up in flames. Either way it's going to be an interesting year.


Life




In terms of my life I am fairly happy with how things are going right now. I've a good job, I have my health and I have great friends and family. I will become an uncle for the first time this year and my favorite relation is getting married soon as well. It should be a positive year. I would love to get a dog but I just don't know if I could provide the right environment for it since i spend a lot of time away from the house between work and other commitments. I'll think about it a bit more. I've a 5 year loan on my car and the one thing I would love to do is pay it off this year and get ahead of myself for a while. I have payed back one year but will start to pay off a bit extra from now on and get ahead of it.

That's all from me for now other than to wish all of you a happy new year and the best of luck going into the next year.


image.png

Sort:  

Congrats on becoming and uncle and the new addition to the family! I assume you will be the cool uncle that lets the kid get away with stuff they can’t do at home!

Funny you mention the car, I knew a guy last year who invested in BTC but before the bull run and he made enough to pay off his house and car his super happy now! I wish to have that feeling for myself and everyone lol

The only thing that bugged me was you spelt favourite without the U! I know you guys have a rocky relationship with the UK but let’s stick to speaking the queens and not the Donald brigades version lol!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I assume you will be the cool uncle that lets the kid get away with stuff they can’t do at home

That's exactly what i was telling the family at xmas. I get to turn up with presents, have all the fun and then leave when there is actual minding to do. My sister lives at the other side of the country so I don't see her that often anymore. It's a small country but we are all busy.

As for "favorite" I've noticed that all of the sites on here have an American spell check and don't register the British spelling. But as a matter of principle we don't speak the Queen's English anyway. We have bastardized the language to such an extent that it doesn't even make sense to most people outside the country. Since the Brits are going to be cut off from the rest of Europe soon we don't really have to worry about them much anymore. It could be an interesting year with them as well and the mess they have.

Sounds like you have some great things to look forward to, I have a lovely niece and being an aunt is a nice job :D Getting some financial stuff in order just gives peace of mind, which is great also. I hope all your wishes for 2019 come true and it will be a great year :-) Cheers @niallon11!

Thanks. I think that everybody here is looking for a big year in 2019. Hopefully things work out and we can all be very happy this time next year.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @niallon11
BuildTeam wishes everyone a great Christmas and bullish Holidays
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @niallon11
BuildTeam wishes everyone a great Christmas and bullish Holidays
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @niallon11!

You just got a 32.94% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @niallon11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.863 which ranks you at #4308 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 4304).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 193 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77