A splinterlands challenge. Earning a "WIZARD OF EASTWOOD"

in #blog4 years ago

I had a couple of extra days off this week and decided to set myself a little challenge.

I've been playing @splinterlands since the beginning of times and without keeping track have really used it to earn a decent amount of STEEM, while building up my @splinterlands deck.

The good part of this being as we all know, that you own the cards and can use them for the the game, hold them for the future or just sell them straight away for profit.

Built on the STEEM blockchain with it's free transactions and 3 second block times means you can do it instantly and for free unlike games on the other major blockchains.

So looking at my deck and at the market I was wondering how much effort it takes to earn some decent cards. I'm a gold player and love to build up my gold collection and want to max out some more of the cards to get higher in the rankings. An expensive job if i was to buy them all so instead how long will it take to earn them?

I set my sight on one of the new summoners that I will be trying to max out over the next few months.






So at $4.25 for the cheapest one I cleared out all of my DEC and went to start from scratch to earn enough and buy one.

You do not have enough Dark Energy Crystals (DEC) in your account to complete this purchase. 6,823.127 DEC is required.

The only question being how long this was going to take me.


Luckily enough the first event after I started was a Gold card tournament which I love to see. For anybody playing the game I do recommend trying to buy gold cards where possible as it's so much easier to prizes using them. There are a lot less people with a good gold deck and this will open up a lot more tournaments for you with a far better shot of placing in the prizes. For my first move in the challenge I managed to place 5th with a nice boost of 1750DEC to get me off the mark.





That's almost a quarter there in the first go. I also managed to place 19th in the next gold card tournament for another 1500DEC but lost to a top 50 player 2-1. Not the worst result.

After that I finished one spot off placing in the next gold tourney, ouch. And one non-gold one at 224th place. See the difference straight away. Still getting 3250DEC with 2/4 placing is solid work.






Outside of that it was trench warfare, going round for round in the gold level rankings where I usually earn about 80DEC per win. It took me 74 games with 42 wins to break the DEC target for the gold summoner which was a win rate of 57%. I did hit a couple of streaks along the way adding up to more DEC.

I did this over a couple of days since i had some other stuff going on but it did take a good few hours including 2 tournament places to get the value of a $4 card. It shows that you can build your deck up naturally not even counting the daily quest rewards but it will be slow work.

This was trying to do it at a decent level already but in fairness most people building will be doing so with lower value cards and $4 goes a long way in the regular monsters. Also I could do with improving my win rate which would get me there a lot faster and enter more tournaments as the prizes add up fairly fast if you can keep placing.

I might try again at the weekend and enter all of the tournaments to see how I can get on. Either way result achieved!!!



0p2eczmztu.png

Sort:  

Good luck with the challenge!
Personally I am not so interested in the golden foil cards. Or I do sell them or I do lease them out to my secondary account.

Cheers,
Peter
!trdo

Congratulations @fullcoverbetting, you successfuly trended the post shared by @niallon11!
@niallon11 will receive 0.08025075 TRDO & @fullcoverbetting will get 0.05350050 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I'm a big fan of them myself. They open up a lot more rewards, should be more value due to rarity, plus they look nicer. :D
It can be more expensive to use them but i do feel it will be a winner in the long run.

I also looked at growing my Collection via Gold Foils but given how deep I already was, I couldn’t afford it. I am using my Gold Foils on a secondary account for now which helps getting more DEC which is getting harder to earn. I may have some extras if interested and can come to an arrangement/trade. Let me know!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm always interested in growing out my collection which is nowhere as advanced as yours. For the most part I have a good few gold level 7 summoners and most of the common cards leveled up to that but it's the more expensive and rarer ones that I'm missing. I don't miss them for the most part but it does always catch my towards the end of tournaments when you face the people with maxed out decks.

I work with two accounts as well to earn reward cards and some extra DEC which I will be using to try and push my main one higher from now on. It can consistently get into gold level so i don't need to do much more with it from here.

congrats and will watch to see you reach max gold summoner. About gold foil tournaments my understanding is one also needs gold summoners, which are expensive and difficult to come by. Hopefully one day I can have the chance to enter and play in one of those tournaments. Thanks!

You're not wrong. It can be an expensive business to get the summoners in gold and not that easy for players just starting off. I've been playing since day 1 of the game and built up a good few rewards along the way which I have mostly put back into my deck. That has allowed me to get level 7 gold summoners and play in diamond level. From there I can keep trading and buying more gold cards with my DEC and reward cards to keep earning more.Sometimes you can get a very valuable reward card which is great to sell and buy a lot more common gold ones. With a good strategy you can still win a lot of your games with worse cards.

Great analysis I’ve been meaning to do something similar. I’m looking to see how much steem a decent card deck produces based on win rate.

Ya, I was wondering what the profit was from playing the game. I think the next one will be a weekend that I'm off and just play as many games and tournaments as possible to see how much DEC can be earned from it.

Hi @niallon11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.129 which ranks you at #3446 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 117 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @niallon11!

You just got a 78.6% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @niallon11, your post successfully recieved 0.08025075 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@fullcoverbetting earned : 0.0535005 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04