Blockchain entries are permanent: why I think its so important to decide what should be posted and what not - things which won't make me feel embarrassed even if I read my own writings after 50 years from now on

in #blog6 years ago

I did a lot of things in the past, which I find very embarrassing today. Recently, I went shopping, and I met this guy with whom I used to play street football during my teenage days, he was working at a shop where I went to buy things. I didn't recognize him at first, but he recognized me and approached me, and we talked about the old days for a while, and I ended up with remembering lots of things which are better forgotten.


And because of this recent event, I thought of writing this now. I often end up sharing many things on social media, which I find embarrassing at some point. There were lots of pictures which I uploaded on my Facebook, but later ended up deleting them.


awkward.jpg


But blockchain blogging is somehow similar to that recent event, actually I have forgotten many things from my past, but there are others who haven’t forgotten and remember things which I did and forgot but they did not forgot.


If it’s something that I wrote on Facebook, or a video which I uploaded on YouTube, there is still a chance that I can later edit or delete them, but when it comes to sharing a blog on blockchain, there are no such thing as edit or delete button.


Perhaps, this chain from blockchain is a chain that can never be broken? A very strong chain, one of the core features of a blockchain is that it keeps record permanently, and these records cannot be altered, as thousands and millions copies are made and kept stored in the chain.


Blockchain has its own advantages but it can sometimes work against us also. I remember some “bastard” once posted a photo of him on his underwear so that he can attract attentions, yes it worked, that bastard is now one of the top earners on Steemit, but people like me will keep calling him bastard because no matter how famous he got or no matter how much money he ends up making now, the fact will always remain. I wonder what if his daughter one day sees her perfect dad’s photo posing on his underwear would think like, or what happens when her friends at school finds out about it.


Perhaps at that point that bastard only thought of becoming popular on this platform, and he did all kinds of stunts to pull it off, that’s why he has a lot of followers now, and even if he uploads a photo of his toilet bowel now, he will end up making $100 from every single post he makes.


But as for me, I would like to keep my dignity, and since records once entered in blockchain cannot be altered or remove in the future, I think I personally will think twice or thrice before I decide what I should and what I shouldn't share while blogging on Steemit.

Sort:  

nice post..

I will resteem it to my 818 followers

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nee to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23