You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PSA: WARNING- Dear Men Of Steem, that photo of the hot chick might just be a 10yr old kid

in #blog5 years ago

I just found this post while doing the normal off and on steemit routine as I don't consistently post as often as I used to. So in advance sorry I missed this post and sorry I didn't get my vote in on time. It would probably be a good thing to have a community driven group of trusted steemit members with influence to create an initiative to keep an eye out on both nsfw and standard posts. The dilemma would be where to start. For example finding trusted people would be tough as this is cyber space and you never know for sure who you're dealing with or trusting. I.e the monitor group could have a sicko in its midst who is enjoying the viewing of underage content that he or she is supposed to be flagging. Second would be sp and the ability to create a block chain ghost out of the blatant offenders by flagging the shit out of the post with content that creates or suggest a child as a sexual object. Yes it would still be on the block chain, but decreasing the visibility, revoking the financial incentive for the poster, and making the content difficult to find couldn't hurt. It does send a message in regards to a decentralized platform handling its own policing. Third would be dealing with people who potentially come to the defense of someone posting explicit or suggestive content.... I don't know who in there right mind could find a way to do that, but seeing weirdos rally would not surprise me. Just look at all the suggestive shit in mainstream media that basically encourages the sexual image of kids. Sadly this mindset is passively being encouraged in today's society. I've worked with offenders, I've worked with victims. Offenders find ways to indulge themselves and their fantasies unnoticed for years until they work themselves into positions of trust or into families or social groups where they can then carry out an offence. Sadly I've also seen situations where parents will outright allow themselves to be groomed or seek financial gain from offenders while allowing their kids to be predated upon. It's sick but sadly it happens more often than people realize. We definitely don't need that shit here on steemit or on this block chain. We certainly don't need to create an environment where anyone with that type of wiring can indulge themselves. To wrap all this up though so the comment doesn't go on to long, great post and way to keep an eye out. Reading the post has switched me on alert and the way you called it to the attention of people was spot on. A plea to stop and a well rounded way of voicing disgust is a good way to put a light on the issue and if ever I come across similar content I will probably go about it in the same way. Sorry again I missed the up vote window, but definitely clicking follow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00