Coding like it's 1975

in #blog6 years ago

As some might know, I am working on a Ph.D. in computational fluid dynamics. The main part of my work is developing software that can be used to simulate different types of fluid flows. Today I received a few old pictures from my professor. It shows how he was working back in the day.

Screen Shot 2018-02-16 at 14.41.00.png

What you see is a group of students writing computer programs onto punch cards. This is how it was done before the modern-day computer was invented.

Here is a picture I've received where you can see one of the punch cards that were used to write code. On the top of the card, you can see what function is computed by this specific card. I believe it is simply adding two variables together.

Screen Shot 2018-02-16 at 14.41.08.png

It's pretty amazing to think how things have changed over the past decades. Think about how we are now working behind a screen instead of punching holes in a piece of cardboard. And how nowadays we can easily collaborate together all over the world using tools like Github.

Who knows how people, in a few decades from now, will be looking back at how we do things today!

Sort:  

Wow, coding on punch cards sounds absolutely unreal in the world of the today. Great pic!

I know right! Even just reading those things is a pain! Imagine writing an operating system using punch cards :P

Thanks for checking out my blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34