You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making the next step. ( 5 SBI shares up for grabs)

in #blog6 years ago

I really love Steemit and believe the potential to do something great is here. Recently I decided to go to every one of my follower's blog, of course over a period of time, comment and upvote one of their posts. What I found was many have not made a post in a month or more.
This is what I have been doing:

  • If the person is active with a current post less than 7 days old, an upvote and comment.n
  • if their latest post was a month ago or less, I comment on their last post in hopes they still check replies. No upvote, but an encouraging word to come back and post.
    My power level gets low and I have to wait for a recharge and I am back at it. My following is currently at 1150. Some are bots and some have a reputation of 25 and have never posted.

This has really produced some good results! I also noticed some with outstanding content, discouraged and not posting.

I have been trying to advocate for Steemit where I live as I see this as a great additional income in an area where a person is doing well making $5.00 US per day. Many make much less!

So I had a card printed and have convinced 5 people to join. Getting started and moving in the right direction really requires some hand holding in the early stages. I read a story of a steemian in Cebu who needed a metal roof on his house and he was able to convert Steem into pesos and do so.

So I had a card printed and my wife and I have Steemit Tee shirts to promote Steemit.

FF86A906-AA78-41D1-B7D3-26533FCBD0BF.jpeg

Having some issues with the Steemit photo uploader, but if you click the link you can see my card.

I started Steemit to help generate some funds for the missionary work we are doing in the Philippines. So many great needs and many times insufficient resources. This is still my goal! If you look in my wallet there is almost 200 Steem in my savings. Sort of waiting for a raise in the value of Steem and to have a sufficient amount to warrant the exchange fee. I am really excited to used Steem to feed the hungry and clothe the naked.

I had a personal goal of 1000 followers, reputation of 60 and 500 SP so I could have a slider and I reached these goals about a month ago.

Now my goals are to get 2000 followers, get more people interested in Steemit and to get those who are already here in Steemit but are not producing any content.

I opened another account @daddywilliam to raise funding for children who cannot afford to go to school here in the Philippines. Two things! Raising awareness to attract people to help and build an account that I can take off Steem for this very purpose. I call it a Hand Up, not a Hand Out. Most of us needed a hand up along the way. Imagine effectively changing the future of a person and every future generation in that family. Wow!

So part of both accounts is to encourage others to join and it would be nice to build some SP to give encouraging upvotes to the newbies until they can swim on their own. Also I have been trying to encourage people who want to go to college or want to send their kids to school or college to build a Steemit blog with the intent or goal to use the Steem for an education. If you read some of my recent blogs you would see we are investigating building a school in a remote island area with plenty of kids but no school.

I have been promoting on Facebook and LinkedIn these things.

I even recently wrote a post on things that, I believe would improve Steemit and make it more attractive to new people and to great content contributors.
Here is a link to that post,
https://steemit.com/steemit/@mhm-philippines/opinion-what-steemit-needs
Thank you for the work you are doing.
Daddy William

Sort:  

When the price of STEEM dropped a while back you could see a massive drop of in users posting on the site. For me this is a good thing as all that really matters is the amount of STEEM earned. In the long run prices should rise again so this is a great chance to gain more while things are quiet. Not only this it's easier to find better users and writers since the people still going are the ones who believe in the long term future of the network. I like how much effort you have put in to connect with your followers and i'm sure that it will mean a lot to all of the people who are active.

I can see that you are from the Philippines and i know from some of the the other users on here how tough things are over there right now. If what you say is true about the $5 dollars then this is a massive opportunity for them to make a better life for themselves.

I have been trying to advocate for Steemit where I live as I see this as a great additional income in an area where a person is doing well making $5.00 US per day. Many make much less!
So I had a card printed and have convinced 5 people to join. Getting started and moving in the right direction really requires some hand holding in the early stages.

It's part of what i love about the site that people are so willing to help out other users. As you say it can be tough at the start and i was the same for a long time but there are plenty people willing to point you in the right direction. I had the luck to meet some great people at the start and they made my life a lot easier until i found my own feet.

I had a personal goal of 1000 followers, reputation of 60 and 500 SP so I could have a slider and I reached these goals about a month ago.
Now my goals are to get 2000 followers, get more people interested in Steemit and to get those who are already here in Steemit but are not producing any content.

I have my own goals on the site and i always like that people have some too. It gives you a purpose when you have something to achieve. I have managed to hit some of them already but the next drive is to get to whale status. It won't be easy but there is a minnow power up ;league to help and track the progress as we grow. I will continue to power up all of my steem for the future and try to keep growing.

So part of both accounts is to encourage others to join and it would be nice to build some SP to give encouraging upvotes to the newbies until they can swim on their own. Also I have been trying to encourage people who want to go to college or want to send their kids to school or college to build a Steemit blog with the intent or goal to use the Steem for an education. If you read some of my recent blogs you would see we are investigating building a school in a remote island area with plenty of kids but no school.

Now that i have established a decent account on here, i also try to help others grow, delegate to a few good projects and take part in different leagues and communities. My causes aren't as noble as yours but i try to help any steemians that look for it and grow the community that we have on here. It's important to support the newer people as that is where we lose most of the users.They don't see any results at the start and get discouraged but if we can get theme up to 500sp most of them know what to do by them and have fallen in love with the place.

I agree with your take on the price of Steem. We keep making some and building our blog. One day Steem goes to 6 or something, immediately everything we earned is multiplies by 6 or more.
I also love the community, the chat and even making a few good friends! Amazing reply to my comment by the way!
Cheers!

Exactly. Plan for the long term since this is only the beginning stage for all blockchain technology. I've seen steem go up to 10 so I know it can happen and that was before most of the development had happened. Hopefully we will see a loot more people get involved over the next year and word will spread of what is possible on here. Thanks for entering the competition.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78