Wonderful story of Donnie hen, carrying huge eggs!

in #blog6 years ago

курица.jpg
Meet Donnie - my wonderful chicken. Her story is as unusual as she is. This happened 10 years ago. I went to work along the road. A truck passed by and suddenly a small yellow lump fell out of the truck. At first I thought it was a piece of paper. But then I heard a squeak and saw the lump begin to move. I approached and gasped - it was a small chicken! A live chicken! I realized that the truck was taking chickens to the factory (next to the city's incubator station). I picked up a squeaking miracle, covered my jacket and went home.
Цыпа.jpg
I was late for work that day. But it was not the biggest problem. I did not know how to handle small chickens then. I had to learn everything myself. I watched the video on the Internet, I analyzed it. I built a special brooder - a heated box and a light bulb. I was cuddling with Donny as a child. I fed her by the clock, got up at night to check if the light in her box had turned off.
подросла.jpg
Over time, Donnie grew up. I made a burn specially for her, hung a thermometer to monitor the temperature. When it became very cold in winter, I put a heater nere her..
IMG_0974.jpg
We just adored Donnie! She was very tame, like a cat. When I was working in the garden, she was walking beside me. At the end of February, Donnie took the first egg. It was just a miracle! The egg was larger in size than usual. When we broke it, there were two yolks inside!
IMG_1106.JPG
IMG_1108.JPG
Since then, Donnie often carried such eggs. She herself was large, more than an ordinary chicken, but the eggs were simply huge. After a year, Donnie started to get sick. She could not walk for a long time, her joints swelled. By that time I already knew that the chickens of this breed are derived specifically for meat. They are not meant for a long life. At the factory, they are raised to three months and killed. This is the fate of these hens.
Donny was getting worse. I sat next to her, fed and drank almost by force. But I realized that I was just prolonging her suffering. One morning I found her dead. In this situation, death was a deliverance for her. I was very worried. But this story gave rise to my hobby. Since then, I have been professionally engaged in breeding chickens of different breeds. I raised hundreds of chickens and not one (!) Died. My friends know that if a bird comes to me - it will live a long life. I still remember Donny. And her wonderful eggs with two yolks.

Sort:  

What a wonderful story of love, @mashla! Upvoted and resteemed this post because it touched my heart! Cheers!

Oh what a lovely story about Donny! I’m so glad she found you the way she did and what valuable experience she has taught you. Thank you for sharing your story. Hopefully if you like animals you may like my blog? Take care :)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team! Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!


You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28