Playing the game - or getting played by the game?

in #blog6 years ago

I had been playing mobile games for quite a long time - how long? I don't remember the first one I played, probably Clash of Clans or something like that. Probably that's when I was at secondary school's second year, since I had that one tablemate that spends more time playing than studying (and still performs better than me in class) for that year. He was also responsible for dragging me into Tower of Saviors which made me who I am now, a 1500 day Tower of Saviors player. That's like...4 years. I'm surprised that a game managed to keep me for so long but it did.

We play games for fun, and that's the main reason we all play stuff. But, throughout the 4 years playing Tower of Saviors, I saw various types of people on forums and now, Discord (I'm a mod there). There are indeed people who are unhappy playing and complain all the time, no matter it's about draw rate, stage design, or anything that can make them go mad.

I have saw multiple replies on Bahamut (a gaming forum) mentioning the phrase "you are playing the game, don't let it sound like you are getting played instead". That looks...pretty psychological but yeah, you are the player, you should be the one enjoying the game instead of the opposite. It is not that easy sometimes, but for most of the times, it is. You only need that twist of mindset, and view it as a game. Or, just gamify it.


image.png
Source

There's one stage in Tower of Saviors in which we say is one of the hardest stage ever made (one of the hardest, because there are harder things compared to this one but I'm not going to mention them). It's called "An Uphill Battle", labelled as a transmigration stage. For non TOS-players things may not tick for you but let's think it this way - it's a huge ass 50-battle stage with tons of gimmicks here and there, and it only gets trickier when you approach the end. Best part: You cannot revive if you died, so if you failed somewhere you have to restart everything from the first.

Sounds pretty painful? It is. I did it once, and there is a reason why I only did it once.

Even though it's the second time the stage is released (most of the times if the stage is released again it will be easier thanks to new cards and setups that can handle more gimmicks and hence make the thing less sadistic), it is still a headache to most of us. At the 32th battle, you have a 1/3 chance to meet a mob that smacks you with insane damage before you can even do anything. Of course, there are teams that are tanky enough to not die to it, but it's not like everyone has that team. And, it is pure luck if you get to meet that or not.

Imagine that you are super lucky to go through everything before it with a breeze, then die to that stupid mob somewhere at 60% of the stage, and you have to do it all over again.

Not fun.


image.png
Source

So one day, I'm thinking of some cosmetic roles for server users because apparently there's one guy in there that does this stage all day long with various teams and he already had a community title called the Transmigration Rapist. I don't really want to give the role right away, listing out the requirements to get the role and let everyone know how to get it sounds like a better idea. When I was thinking of role names, this little annoyance popped out in my mind...

I died to that thing for a few times, so I totally understand how it feels. Plus, stages after that one are actually intensely crazy, to the extent I don't feel like doing it in any way because it just feels like you can die in any point if you are not focused enough.

What if, we can just stop at that annoying thing? So here we go, I set an achievement on the announcement channel. A cosmetic role will be given if you manage to meet that stupid mob with 10 different teams, regardless if you survive it or not.

The idea is, since the other two cosmetic roles' I set has requirements that are a little too high for most casual players (pass the entire stage for 7 times or pass the entire stage with some weak team), I want to have something that is achievable for casuals (passing the first half of the stage is not too hard for most people who played the game for some time). Plus, it is fun to change how the stage works - you are supposed to pray to not meet him, but now you have a reason to just meet him and end things there. And, memes. Why not?


I thought that people will just slap me everywhere for setting this stupid role with this stupid requirement, but...well, there are indeed people that went for it.

image.png

And looks like they are pretty happy with it.

Games are like extra fun when you play them in the way you want. That's the reason I don't ask for the best things in the game, the best here, the best there, bla bla bla, because I don't need to know it. All I need is to play the game in a way I like, and I feel happy from it, and yea that's why we all play games. To find happiness, not to find more trouble and stuff like that.

Remember, you are the player, you are the one who determines if you are going to play it in the way you like it, or not. Play the game, not getting played by it.

Happy gaming, back to trying to find this annoying little mob - wish me luck!

--Lilacse

Sort:  

Kimi no 45194

Speaking of Tower of Saviors, this is one of the longest played games I'd ever played. Most of the games in my phone are like decorations - Downloaded and played intensively at the first few days, but eventually got bored and deleted after that. Which I don't mind the in-game progress since most mainstream games have cloud save functions but I have a 95% odd of not returning to them anyway nom

I started TOS since I was 15, which TOS is really a thing back then. I played TOS in my secondary Facebook account but at some point, my Facebook got deleted for unknown reasons and my first TOS account gone down the drain just like that, but I don't mind that much since it's not my main Facebook account Level 24 which I'll remember that account FOREVER RIP. I returned to TOS from Level 0 using my main Facebook account a year later, which I still remember my TOS birthday, March 15, 2015.

At first I'm using purely emulators and with my good 'ol Inferno Melog, which is my first card and he's still in my inventory, Dual Maxed for memories and a sign of gratitude of carrying me my first days in TOS. People around me thought I'm mad or something since his stats are terrible and I put him as the leader in most of my teams back then, but I don't mind since I just wanna enjoy the game myself slow and steady.

Back then while the my friends are bringing Greeks and any sort of overpowered teams though they're not that overpowered now to wreck all kinds of levels and stuff, me here still grinding and struggling the main story, side story as well as biweekly stages (in Beginners and Intermediate difficulty for sure).

I sure do admit back then I'm a potato's potato in terms of team building. That's what friends come by. In TOS, I met lots of friends. On Facebook, Discord, or even any random player I met in work, or perhaps at the station while waiting for the same train together. I admit I'm the type of person which I don't really talk to random strangers yes I'm the timid type in public but crazy type among my friends, but TOS opened this door for me to improve my social skills, which I'm glad with it. Every time I met a random player, I always ask for their UID to add them in my friends list, just like asking for their Facebook account to add them as a friend. I prefer not to say this but I managed to find your FB account nom

As in the time I'm writing this, I'm already Level 290 in TOS, where I live on the age battle royales and mobile MOBAs is a thing, and leaving only a few loyal TOS players around me for helping reach other in-game and in life. Well a Chinese proverb says, 物以稀為貴 (one is expensive if it's rare to find), most TOS players around me are not just allies in game, but also awesome friends in real life which I appreciate them really much.

Deleting the game? Despite how potato my phone is I won't delete it. Aside from my last secondary school, TOS is the second thing which gives lots of memories to me, which it's really hard to let it go.

Give him the Transmigration Rapist role

Super wall of text detected

Yeah, no game ever survived that long in my phone. 4 years...wew. I still remember those days secretly taking the phone out from the drawer just to do daily login during SPM year. Perfect secondary school memories lmao.

My early TOS days were mostly Dipankara leader with a bunch of Norns - I had full teams of Iduns and Urds if I never decompose them. It's not like my drawing luck is terrible but it just happened that I decomposed a Tyr and a Novalis when they were super leaders or members (in Novalis' case). No regrets anyway, I was well known in my guild for grind teams and Norn teams because of this reason. You think you can stop my Idun? You think too much.

It also happened to me that I managed to speak to strangers that play the same game in trains. It's just like...miracles? You find them playing the same thing, and you automatically get a common ground to chat about. I remember that time is when QTD got released for the second time and I see people doing it with Maya on the train lol.

Indeed, I tried a big bunch of mobile games - from the worst ones (you imagine it yourself) to the very good ones (Deemo, Implosion, Vainglory). TOS was the one that managed to keep my attention for that long, a day without TOS is not called a day kappa. I'm not even sure what is the element TOS has for me to keep it for that long, but it might be a mythical urban legend decades later lul.

If your phone can handle Pokemon GO...I can't see why it can't handle TOS HAHAHAHAHA.

Will probably give the role for a future trans, not for this :pain:

It is like life. Live life, do not let life live you.

Exactly! They say life's a game, I don't see why not!

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/we-curate-7

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Hello @lilacse, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90