Parisian Snow In Mid-March. Huh???

in #blog6 years ago

Is Spring Coming After All?

After a warm week, heralding the imminent arrival of the much-missed spring, Paris (and much of Europe, from what I understand) is once again under the influence of the Siberian bear, or the Arctic beast, or the Monster from the North Pole, however they choose to call it this time. This basically means that we are all absolutely, completely frozen. A week before spring is officially here (and, at least in France, this means something about the weather we're expecting to have), I woke up this morning to see this from my living room:

2018-03-19 09.49.56.jpg

2018-03-19 09.50.04.jpg

Glorious as this sight may be, I can't help but to think of all the poor flowers that have already started showing promising advancement over the past week. The last time we got such a late burst of snow in Paris (March 2013, if I recall correctly), many of the newly planted and blossoming plants simply died, and that was quite a miserable sight for several weeks, until the city... ummm... handled it. Poor plants.

In short, it's absolutely freezing, I refuse to leave home, and every heater I have is working overtime at this point. The cats are cuddled on a chair, having their own private and warm nest, much like so:

I wish I could join them, but work is calling, and there's lots and lots of it today (yay?). Apparently, for the next couple of week I'll be working my regular day job + an evening shift for a rather intense project, which I hope can provide me some much-needed income.

In the meantime, I'll stick to my thermal socks and hot cup of coffee, and hope for the best :-)

If you liked this post, please upvote and resteem, and maybe follow me on Steemit, too!
To take a look at my photos (mainly Paris related), visit my Instagram account.
For planning your dream vacation in Paris or France, come visit my website.
Or, if you just want to see more pretty things, go to my Etsy shop and see what I have there for you :-)

And in the meantime – don't forget to have a wonderful day.

2018-03-19 10.19.03.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 10:21:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 84.75/100.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The most traveled cat is Hamlet, who escaped from his carrier while on a flight. He hid for seven weeks behind a panel on the airplane. By the time he was discovered, he had traveled nearly 373,000 miles (600,000 km).

It was snowing here in Switzerland too ... everything is white ... and when I look at our and your cats, I would also like to be a cat ...

I think all of Europe was snowing on this weekend, it's insane... I hope it gets better.
As for the cats - well, I really wish I could be like them too :-)

Buena publicacion, Up++

Thank you! Highly appreciated :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48