Temporarily Disabled Witness to Upgrade to STEEM 0.19.0 (Done!)

in #blog7 years ago (edited)


( a brief screencap showing my witness temporarily disabled - steemd.com)

After some consideration I decided to briefly disable my witness node in order to update to STEEM version 0.19.0. While I do have a smaller, less powerful backup server in place that is capable of running the STEEM software it was decided in order to keep my somewhat minimal 100 blocks missed that I disable my witness server temporarily allowing #21 witness @liondani the chance to produce blocks for me in the mean time. This is in fact what backup witnesses are for and I know liondani has proved himself a good witness in the past!

Main Witness Server Update Progress

Currently building boost 0.16.0 to get ready to install the new STEEM version..!

Boost 0.16.0 installed now compiling STEEM 0.19.0 :)


STEEM 0.19.0 Looks like it compiled correctly. Moving around files and getting ready to replay the blockchain and get my witness going again.. Seems so far so good!


Steem19 Seems to be running OK! Replaying to get the blockchain converted to the new STEEM19 way of doing things and should be up and running here in the next little bit!


Roughly 30% done my replay on the main witness server. Will keep ya'll posted!


Nearly 50% done the replay on the blockchain now.. Woot!

69% done replay at 4AM my time.. Will likely be an hour or so longer is my estimate! Working on @tippy a bit while I wait.

Around 5:45 AM my time my main witness server was back up and operating running version 0.19.0 of STEEM. I'm ready for the upcoming hard fork this week and stoked to see how the community reacts to being able to vote with more weight.


VOTE @KLYE FOR WITNESS

steemit.com/~witnesses
Sort:  

Very cool. Would love to be a witness at some stage. No idea how to get started on that though. Are there up to date instructions to run a witness node?

I'll make an updated "Complete Noob Guide to STEEM Witness" in the upcoming days. :)

Awesome. Thanks. If you could tag me when it is done that would be awesome. Dont want to miss it (I am following you though)

I started the process of becoming a witness.more to explore the code base..Are you hosting this in aws or digital ocean? If i started with aws which tier would you recommend? Any other cheaper alternative than aws and digital ocean?

Neither of those is a great VPS provider to be honest.

Check out OVH or hetzner if you are looking to get a rig rented.

wow OVH starts at 3.99 and above.This seems to be a great option thank you

Yep! Always exciting with the changes to the network being initiated once version 19 goes live. :D

Good Luck with the update.
Seems to be going well so far.

Nice work hope ya having a good day

Thank you! My day (night actually) is going swell. How about yours?

A sea of green!

What's up with @roelandp?!? lol Too busy with SteemFest I presume

I'm sure he'll upgrade in the next day or so!

What about the blocksize? Have you thought about upping it a bit like @timcliff proposed?

I might actually! I see no adverse effect really.

i enjoy your post.upvoted.follow back

Thanks man.

Really happy that everything went smoothly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65669.27
ETH 2668.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87