One of the Coolest photos ever taken of me

in #blog6 years ago

_MG_4810.jpg

Ok that's it you can stop reading.

Well I'll provide a little more background and give thanks to the photographer (also a steemit user!)

Back to Belgium

After just getting home (back to Holland) from a much needed vacation to Canada, I had the extreme pleasure to play a festival in the hometown of the singer / guitar player from Stef Paglia trio.

It was a long, hot drive, in a car with no air conditioning but it's always a pleasure to finally arrive, setup, catch up with the band and get ready to share some music with people. We had a fantastic sound crew and the stage / front of house sound was unbelievably good.

_MG_4821.jpg

The show itself was good. I think we were all coming back from breaks and vacations so we weren't as tight as we normally were but we had been hitting home runs on a number of gigs, so to have a good rather than a great gig was bound to happen sooner or later. We are all at the mercy of the music gods.

@iristeunissen snapped this photo mid set and it pefectly embodies how I felt at this beautiful location. Dwarfed by an unbelievably beautiful old church, playing with an incredible band who I consider good friends and doing the most beautiful thing on earch, playing music for people, this is a perfect moment. Another aspect I like is the focus of the photo is the instruments, the music. The shadows obscure who we are and direct your focus to what's going on around us. We are just vessels for sound.

36773775_675976506071927_8630715044482514944_o.jpg

I hope you enjoyed these shots and my description of an important event! Be sure to check out my last drum video, as well as keeping an eye out for a new one! I'm off to Spain next week so I must rehearse for the tour but still do my best to keep up on Steemit.

Thanks for reading

-Joel

All photos by @iristeunissen THANK YOU!!!

Sort:  

WARNING! The comment below by @erudire leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Oh thank you so much Joel! Love photographing and helping the band! See you soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71