The gratitude of a punk !

in #blog6 years ago

The days follow one another and are similar. After the surprise of discovering my new job, routine inevitably settles in over time. Despite this, working in a team allows you to forge new relationships with people who have the same connections. It is through my new professional situation that I was able to meet an original character who stands out completely from the rest of the group.

Who looks alike, assembles himself !

In his forties, his hair graying and his face marked by time, Alex looks like a normal person at first glance. However, its original and unconventional behaviour hides a heavy history of debauchery within a movement that was on the rise during the 1980s. As we got to know each other, we soon discovered that we were not very different. Around a beer, at the end of our respective obligations, we revisited together our former lives as marginal people. Except that he came from a generation before me. It was with great interest that I listened to his elucubrations about the local punk movement, then emerging more than three decades ago. In this way, I got closer to this strange individual from a behavioural point of view (drugs did not spare him) but nevertheless endearing. Committed and a little anarchic on the edges, Alex does not hesitate to actively participate in the various social movements. A free electron, it does not fail to stretch the stick in order to be beaten by the management. This one cultivated the culture of contestation, a bit like a teenager who got stuck in an aging body ! Funny thing, from time to time we used to sing punk hymns from the French scene together in the middle of the customers ! His face was illuminated with each of our interventions !

One day at work like any other, Alex came to meet me as usual to exchange a few words. Somewhat annoyed, he told me about a hardware technical problem with his computer. It didn't take me long to find out the nature of his concern: his graphics card had just broken down. After a brief inventory in my mind, I offered to help him out by giving him one of my old possessions: An R9 290 that was then gathering dust. At first surprised at the fact that I had skills in the field, he accepted my offer without further delay. So the next day I showed up with the instrument of his salvation in my bag. Alex could not contain his joy and told me that he would start settling in quickly after work. The next day was marked by an abundance of thanks and enthusiasm, Alex was able to play World Of Tanks again ! In an outpouring of gratitude, this colourful character promised to bring me back a rather special gift, since it is nothing more than a record from his tumultuous youth. Although I expected absolutely nothing from him, I accepted the offer...

An exceptional return !

A week passed without any news of this amusing character. Our bearings diverge somewhat and it is not uncommon not to be able to cross paths for long periods of time. On a very ordinary morning, Alex affectionately tapped me on the shoulder while I was busy serving one of our clients at the counter, creating a surprise. He told me to join him in the locker room once the transaction was completed. Once the operation was done, I did it and found it in the middle of the lockers scattered around this room. Without saying a word, the old punk opened the door of his furniture and handed me an old vinyl. I couldn't believe it, it was a Chaos production, a mythical label that worked to promote punk and French Oi in the early 80s. First press, original and in front of the few copies produced, I was amazed by this gift that was then offered to me ! Because this record, even if it is in a sorry state, is worth a real fortune to collectors. In response to my reaction, Alex addressed these simple words to me:

"Take good care of it !"

This lp was released in 1986 and is one of the last records to be released by the label. It includes 12 tracks composed by four local groups, the best known of which are Kidnap and Reich Orgasm. The cover is a bit shredded, as you can see, but the 33T is in perfect condition! Unfortunately, I don't have a turntable to listen to the whole production. Maybe a possible next purchase ? In any case, it's a hell of a gift and I thank the person who gave me this little piece of French alternative rock history !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04