Old Man Willow - Hildebrandt brothers Tolkien second calendar, my stories about illustrators:)

in #blog7 years ago

The next illustration in the second Tolkien calendar by Hildebrandt brothers is  Old Man Willow:

This one is defitinely one of my favorite. I love to depict trees myself, in different styles, different visions. It's like making magic. The trees with faces are a separate passion of mine. In this post we don't have any references, for trees there's no need in them, so... Just my impressions:)

As a child I loved this character really a lot. I perceived him like a forest owner, like a guardian. And I still use this representation in my own art:

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Old Man Willow!!!
Magic
Thanks for sharing

You're most welcome:)

Nice post!

I read Tolkien I upvote

It brings back memories. Let's see. The apple trees in Wizard of Oz. A hollow tree in Zelda. Oh, the great Deku tree. Climbing trees as a kid. A fort me and my brother made around an apple tree out of tires.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59232.58
ETH 2523.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47