You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chick Update On The Homestead

in #blog6 years ago

Do you lose many to predators?

Here it's a major problem. If we let ours roam, we'd have none in a week. As they are our food source and we feed organic feed, that's a big financial hit, not to mention we'd be short food by this time next year.

Just wondering how you deal with predators...

The Swedish Flowers look like they will be real pretty birds.

Sort:  

I totally understand that! We actually have only had one instance where a predator came up on the chickens but we were around and able to deal with it. That being said, the chickens are somewhat close to the house and so someone’s normally nearby. They do go into their secure coops at night etc.

That’s why I really love your chicken tractor design, they get to free range while protected though. I think that’s amazing.

I should have clarified in my post but I had someone on here tell me keeping chickens was inhumane because the were kept in cages so small they couldn’t turn around... I’ve never seen a homesteader keep chickens that way. Even if they are in protected areas, I find homesteaders care about their livestock and take care of them accordingly... people are silly sometimes.

The Swedish are so pretty and each one is unique in its coloring. I’ll take a photo of one of our older hens to show you what they grow up to be.

By the way, I’m in awe of your herb garden!!

It looks like you have taken precautions and watch them.

It's always bothered me that people do not free range responsibly and the chickens are always being killed. On some groups, they will say they just lost their flock to predators, sometimes multiple times, and then ask for more birds to replenish. To me, that is inhumane.

Seems like such a waste, all the time, money for feed, and loss of bird's production.

Yeah, the New Herb garden is flashy. LOL But the veg gardens look pretty good too! I just don't have a high vantage point to get good photos of them.

Oh I agree completely! We have been lucky and have not lost a single one... if that changes we will change our habits with that. No use in investing all the money, time and love just to then leave them in danger. A group of our younger ones have been heading deeper into the forest lately and I am constantly having to heard them back up, I’m hoping they learn their safe borders soon.

And your vantage point is amazing! It’s really beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34