Recap of Ongoing and Finished Series – What Has Already Happened and What to Expect?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Introduction


Since Steem Blockchain still lacks an “archives tool” it’s vital to do a recap from time to time. This time I’ll do a massive recap. I’m going to recap all the series and projects I have launched on the Steem Blockchain so far. The post is meant to reintroduce my work to the newer followers and @sndbox members of cohort 2. Without further due, let me start with the ongoing series.

Ongoing series


Steem and the Academia


charles.png

Steem and the Academia is my very first sort of physical project launched under the @sndbox banner. I do want to keep creating projects through decentralized platforms yet I struggle with finding suitable people that would want to commit to the cause with me. Steem and the Academia started as a solo endeavour, yet circumstances forced me to join up with my colleges. Luckily I have managed to find few enthusiasts and the actual work is bound to start rather sooner than later. If you want to get to know more about how I intend to connect the academic field with the Blockchain and Steem itself via @sndbox make sure to check out all the previously published articles which can be found through this link.

Decentralization to the rescue


Decentralization to the rescue is one of my most important series launched. Seeking out promising decentralized projects is what I do for living. Dwelling deeper into decentralization is what I want to do even in my academic career and Steem has always been the place to share my findings at. Furthermore there are tons of decentralized projects coming online every single day and there is simply no way how to keep track of them all and select the good ones. Rating system (preferably decentralized lol) is what decentralized communities and possible investors seriously need. Moreover the founders of the decentralized platforms tend to reward “reviewers” for flawed and overly positive reviews (by money obtained through ICOs where people irrationally send often times millions of dollars), which ultimately only hurts those that didn’t do their research, yet can be perceived as our incompetence, or as a proof of pay to win systems. “Decentralization to the rescue” is meant to serve as my two cents contributed to the overall decentralized rating systems. I refuse to change my effort of having objective evaluation of platforms for few pennies…or dollars. I can though also misfire…keep that in mind :).

Blockchain Bachelor’s thesis



In the early stages of the thesis creation I struggled with motivation. I perceived the whole endeavour as sort of waste of time, since no one would ever read the thesis, which would be stuck in the university’s database. Moreover I knew that bachelor’s thesis is just this purposeless effort where one wastes time doing recherché about something that has already been discovered and one doesn’t really need to come up with anything new. Thanks to Steem I chose different approach. First of all I chose my own topic (one of the two approved self-created topics) and I refused to only do a recherché. I tried to come up with something, or at least pinpoint what needs or should be researched next (maybe by myself in the future? Who knows…). I also decided to translate the whole thesis and publish it chapter by chapter on Steem. And the result? The progress can be followed through this link, but we are only beginning so there is still a lot of time to jump on the boat with me!

Metaphysical series


I have been philosophising since I was 15. In fact I even study on a faculty of Philosophy, just different kind of modern philosophy that greatly influences me. Philosophy for me is simply “thinking about stuff”. When one tends to think about stuff a lot, certain connections start appearing and “so far irrefutable” facts (given the obtained information) keep occurring too. When an individual is open-minded such a network of information has to change the way one perceives objective reality. And the way one perceives objective reality is metaphysics. Purpose of “Metaphysical series” is to share my perception of objective reality.

Witnesses of Steem


Unfortunately I have only created a single post where I announced the series and reviewed one witness. I somehow didn’t find enough time to do more than that. In time I certainly will though! Reviewing witnesses is one of the most crucial things on Steem Blockchain in my honest opinion since Steem Blockchain throughout its history oftentimes found itself with idling witnesses at top places and lot of unspent witness votes. This is also due to irresponsible wealthy stakeholders, but also due to lack of knowledge and action of the minnows/dolphins masses. Steem Blockchain could also serve as a sort of decentralized rating system for those that are responsible for minting blocks. “Witnesses of Steem” is the series that is supposed to help with that.

Highly subjective game reviews


Before I started playing “physical sports” I always wanted to be a progamer. I dedicated almost 2 years (like over 700 days….like over 16 000 hours…) to gaming in general. I made it to (almost) top levels of DOTA 2 back in the beta and post beta days. I would say that I have rather exquisite taste for games. Throughout my Steem career I decided that not sharing my opinions about games would be a waste of experience right? Thus was the series “Highly subjective game reviews” born and is currently incarnated in this link.

Book recommendations


My rough estimation is that I have read several tens of thousands of pages, mainly as part of long fantasy sagas or educational/scientific literature. The aim of the series is to either share the extracted information (scientific stuff), or simply create a little teaser for the fantasy sagas I have read. Unfortunately I didn’t manage to work on the series sufficiently enough. So far I only started the series with the first recommendation.

Finished series


Dungeon and Steem


Dungeon and Steem has been my second launched series. It was an effort of adapting Dungeon and Dragons into a format compatible with the Steem Blockchain. It was by far the most exhausting stuff I have done on Steem so far, since I had to take a role of a dungeon master that takes care of 6 parallel dimensions, where each contained 3 characters. It took us incredible 6 months to decide the winner. The series was summed up here. If by any chance you wanted to read through at least some parts, you can find all of them through this link .

Information science



While I was preparing for my thesis I had to go through a book that described what information science actually is step by step. Every chapter I finished was then rewritten in a (supposedly) digestible way and published in separate articles. The series explains information science from the scratch, targeting its epistemologies and philosophies. At later stages I dive deeper into the individual terms and issues the domain tackles. The series serves as a good prerequisite for the “thesis series” and can be found through this link.

Highly practical information science


A subsequent series that tackled the effective usage of search engines from possible recherché strategies to the individual commands one can use while using Google or scientific databases. While the rest of the series will oftentimes need a specific type of reader, for my articles are usually a bit technical and always targeting very specific issues, I recommend this one to everyone (thank me later:P), since it can greatly boost your efficiency while using Google (that we all use every single day), or other better search engines (usually as part of a scientific database which truth be told we don’t really use every day…) The series can be found here.

Poetry workshop


A short series that was also the very first to be finished was a book containing 5 poems that were composed while I was attending poetry workshop. Those poems were actually my very first ones in English. All 5 poems can be found through this link. I have also published a summarising article containing the interesting additional information I learned from James Ragan – the poet leading the workshop.

Workout Challenge pt.1



For ten straight weeks I have been reporting my workout and encouraged the rest to follow in my footsteps. Every Monday I submitted the plan for the upcoming week, but I had to stop due to an injury about 4 months ago. I will certainly start pt.2 at some point. Maybe during winter, maybe even for the end of this Ultimate Frisbee season. Whoever is though itching to do some exercise and lacks plan, “Workout Challenge” might be the solution for you.

Saruman the Young



This is the shortest mini-series I have published so far. Last year I underwent my very first cosplay during my “Steem career” (but actually also my whole life). I tried to turn into a younger version of Saruman for an Ultimate Frisbee tournament that our team organised. You can check how it all turned out in the two posts here and here.The tournament itself has been summarised here.

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://localhost/wordpress/2018/08/16/recap-of-ongoing-and-finished-series-what-has-already-happened-and-what-to-expect/

Sort:  

Good job! Did you get the idea for a recap from me btw? ;-)
And did you want to become a programmer or a progamer? :-P
Let's play HotS together again some time. I just did my 10 placement matches with a noob friend and got placed Gold 1, so plz carry me up to platinum xD

lol yea right...corrected the typo...and no i think I didnt...i had it in my mind for over a month but found time to create the post...I didnt have much time lately...next month will be better gaming-wise so we could team up...now its my turn to carry you I guess:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30