My Pursuit of a Boston Marathon Qualifier: Week 8steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

My pursuit of obtaining a Boston Qualifier time has been super difficult. I started having a great week of training last week and then abruptly ended up with the stomach bug which took me out for a couple of days. As well as leaving me under the weather for a couple more days.

This week has started off pretty well, though. I got a couple of easy 8 milers in at the beginning of the training week. Roughly around 7:30 pace for the whole run. Then Wednesday I ran a hard 4 milers at an average pace of around 6:02. But my first mile was 6:40, followed by 3 sub 6 minutes miles.

4 weeks ago I couldn't have dreamt of running that fast and now it seemed fairly easy. At this point, it is all going to be about making sure I can run the whole 26.2 miles without bonking in the middle of the race.

This week, or tomorrow, I'll be going for my longest run thus far which will be a 12 miler. The goal is to run the first 6 miles fairly easy and finish the last 6 miles hard and under goal marathon pace!

Lets hope that I can do it!

Image Source
Image 1

Sort:  

Good for you! Go for it!

I learned something this week while training for my first marathon - muscle fatigue is a mental construct. It's not real!

I tried it out on a fast 20km run. At then end of it, when I was usually ready to walk up the steep hill to my house, I said, my legs aren't actually fatigued. they still have plenty left in them.

I powered up the last hill without slowing down, no problem. No burning in my muscles or anything. That's huge!

So work on your mental game. Understand the tricks your mind will play on you to get you to stop.

You might also want to read Running for my life by our very own @dragosroua (on Amazon). I read it at the start of the year, and it's the book that got me running. He talks a lot about the mental game and how important it is.

Good luck with your training. I'll follow you so I can keep u to date with your progress. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72